James Allen's Daily Meditations: August 3rd

in #meditation7 years ago

Aug3rd.png


-Excerpt from "James Allen’s Book of Meditations for Every Day in the Year" (1913)


More of the work of James Allen can be found at:


James Allen (28 November 1864 – 24 January 1912) was a British philosophical writer known for his inspirational books and poetry and as a pioneer of the self-help movement. His best known work, As a Man Thinketh, has been mass-produced since its publication in 1903. It has been a source of inspiration to motivational and self-help authors.
-Source

Sort:  

"clinging to the perishable"

I can attest to this.

Upvoted

You are a gentleman, sir.

he is, not a lot of them these days either

so can I...if I can get through this so will you

@jamesallen,
Yeah that's obvious. Some people die with unsolved questions, actually the answer is with him, but the person don't know how to solve it! At the end it will become an untold story or unsolved "?" mark.
Great quote, I mean not only a quote a philosophy! Thanks for sharing!

Cheers~

Thanks for visiting!

Total bliss; it can actually arouse your inner-self and uplift you to the next mortal level, so inspiring!!

Thank you for your comment and thanks for visiting! :-)

We as humans seem to cling to the negative as it is something that is incessantly on our minds. We constantly dwell with no stop which drains our faculties. The best thing we can do is to stay modest and subdued, being eternal than intermittent

Humility and meekness, I think are undervalued.

<3 you do good work and I mean it in a spiritual way ;)

wonderful share by you truly make sense :)

Thanks blazing!

Great philosophy! I enjoy reading it :D Thanks you for sharing!

Welcome to my little corner of Steemit.

Thanks you :D I enjoy reading your post :D

amazing post , thank you so much

beautifully said!

He has a way with words!

Hi,
I think I am late to be here today, but it is good at anytime. Your posts are like a daily dose of wisdom.

All I can comprehend from the above excerpt is that becoming one with the infinite is more less like becoming one with the consciousness, the one consciousness that binds this whole universe and also dissects it. There is everything and there is nothing. Both are complimentary to each other.
These words are also inspired by my understanding of a book "Old Path White clouds" on the life of Buddha by Thich Nhat Hanh, which I read only once, and I wish to read again sometimes.
Have you read this?

No. I haven't read the book. I know that James Allen seems to have had some admiration for Buddha. He would refer to him as one of the 'Great Teachers'.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13