You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Did people lose their basic math skills ?

in #math7 years ago

From my school math training, I was taught BEDMAS, so in this case we have the following sequence to solve the equation.

  1. 10 - 100 + 10 [multiplication done first]
  2. -90 + 10 [addition and subtraction in the order that they appear]
    3 -80 as the answer

Do I win any brownie points? :)

Sort:  

I was taught BODMAS, which like E and includes "of". I prefer BEMA since there's no priority diffetence to DM and AS. But, at the expense of remembering you wotk left yo right and D and S are special cases of M and A respectively.

There is still hope for humanity !

There is also PEDMAS where the P is for parantheses versus B for brackets. Same thing though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59159.44
ETH 2522.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47