What's that in the mail? It's #marty-mail!

in #marty-mail6 years ago

Some time ago I put a painting up for auction here, using #steembay. The winning bidder was @fraenk and he made a post about receiving the painting here.

In it he coined the tag #marty-mail:

If you're having a bad day, just order some #marty-mail.

I didn't think anything particular about it, but the tag kept buzzing in my mind. We talked about the tag, and agreed I could use it. In turn, I'm sending @fraenk the first ever #marty-mail!

And even a little extra:

How does #marty-mail work?

  • Transfer at least 1 SBD or STEEM to @marty-art (careful: not marty-arts - some people have us confused!)
  • Make the memo private: start with a '#' and then write your address. That way, only I will see your address. Like this:

If you're not sure about writing that private memo, transfer the SBD or STEEM and mail me your address at [email protected]

  • I will mail you some original artwork, depending on the amount SBD/STEEM I have received from you!

  • 1 SBD/STEEM: small drawing Size A6

  • 3 SBD/STEEM: painting/drawing size A5

  • 5 SBD/STEEM: small painting, 13x18cm

  • 10 SBD/STEEM: painting 24x30cm

  • More than 10 SBD/STEEM? Surprise me, and I'll surprise you!

  • When you receive the original artwork, you can make a post using the tag #marty-mail and post and boast about your newly acquired marty-art! And of course I will upvote your post!

I'm evaluating this #marty-mail experiment by next week: I will follow up on how many #marty-mails have been sent, which have arrived and who has posted about it.

Looking forward to making this fun!

If there's anything unclear: drop me a comment!

Sort:  

Let's do this! :D

When you did your auction a little while ago I had just powered up all my SBD/Steem so I had nothing to spend, but I have had two photography contest wins since then so I am a wealthy man now, and ready to squander my profits... ;)

10SBD has come your way and I'll email my address (because I couldn't figure out how to pass the private memo key).

International shipping can be expensive so please adjust/choose the painting size accordingly.

Hey, I put two smaller paintings instead of a slightly bigger one in the mail, last Friday. You bet I saved some on shipping :) Thanks for that tip, and I hope they'll arrive soon!

Thanks again for the confidence, I hope you'll enjoy them :)

MM1_1stenvl.jpg

I received my package today. Yoohoo! That's quicker than I expected! The paintings look even better in reality than on the screen! I'm really happy with them and will make a post in a day or two. Meanwhile, do you have a suggestion how to hang them?

I just came around to check if there was an update on your #marty-mail...

can't wait to see what you've gotten!

Woohoo! Awesome, yeah that's quite speedy across the Atlantic. But you should've seen the shipping costs I had to pay for those galley slaves!

And, dammit, did I forget to include hangers? Darn. What I usually buy is something like this

'adhesive hanger' (kleefhanger in Dutch)

I could send some over, but you'll probably be quiker off buying them at a DIY or art-shop, or even online. Let me know how it goes, ok?

http://www.picturedisplaysystems.co.uk/paper--poster-hanger-self-adhesive-100gms-pack-of-10-397-p.asp

Ah yes! I will look for the "kleefhanger" in the local stores :)

Hehe, I read that as

I will look for the "cliffhanger" in the local stores

Didn't know they were that exciting! ;)
Good luck, if you don't find any, let me know!

Sorry for the late post, I took a week off to spend time with my family.
I found some velcro-style hangers that worked well because these paintings are very lightweight.
Here's my post:
https://steemit.com/marty-mail/@edward.maesen/marty-mail-look-what-i-received-in-the-mail
Thanks again for the paintings!!!!

Awesome post, thanks!

Hehe, I read that as

I will look for the "cliffhanger" in the local stores

Didin't know they were that exciting! ;)
Good luck, if you don't find any, let me know!

Can't wait :D and as a surprise piece it's makes even more exciting!

It's small and you should or at least could have seen it here on Steemit :) It's in that top envelope right there... I can't tell you more, or I'd ruin the surprise! :D

That comment is Just like a Teaser trailer :-D

Hehe, awesome, but I do hope the teaser will make the real thing live up to its expectations! :)

Thanks! Size does matter...

Cool! I received your mail, thanks!

I know shipping is expensive, thanks for the heads up!

Awesome stuff! All good for shipping to the UK?

It's in the mail since Friday-afternoon, I hope it reaches you quickly and unharmed! My writing on the envelope is a bit unclear - I was a quite enthused to be sending out paintings to you guys :)

MM1_1stenvl.jpg

Hey, glad you like it! Shipping worldwide included, you bet :)

That is a nice idea man :D
Good luck :D
I thought about something similar with my cute monsters but never really decided to 100% do it :)

Thanks! Sorry if I haven't been very responsive the last week, but it looks like the first edition of #marty-mail is turning out to be a succes! I had this idea/experiment in mind for quite some time, but I didn't act on it right away either - so you'll know when the time's right for your cuddly monsters, I guess :)

You've got my address right. Unfortunately, though, I have advised @johnwatson to no longer accept any letters sent to me.

Good to see you're still around! I'm not appealing for a case and it would be fanmail anyway. Thanks I could use your address ;)

Great idea, great work :)

amazing! i remember when @fraenk posted his #marty-mail! I am sooo excited for this! my piggy bank need's some more SBD but I'm getting there hehehe. say hi to shelly :)

Hehe, I know I haven't been very responsive lately, and I'm sorry for that (things are getting better though!), but Shelly is still right here at my place, and for the moment, she's utterly unavailable to anybody except you, you have first choice :)

Hehehe, it's all good @marty-art! Thank's a million, I really appreciate it :)

woohee :D I suddenly feel like dancing!

Let's hope this turns out to be a successful experiment!

Haha, awesome! Yeah, I'm looking forward to it alright :)

Lucius really cannot wait to hang out with Mabel... bonus points

Zygmunt will inhabit the opposite corner of the room, I've already made sure he'll be comfortable there.

Can't wait to make my 2nd #marty-mail post... I think I've got some stories to tell about my dear new flatmates from that far and mysterious land called Niflheim!

Woohoo... dang... that was some serious express shipping!

I just got home to find Zygmunt waiting for me on my doorstep!

I can't thank you enough! He looks even cooler in reality than on the screen!

That's #marty-mail for ya! When a mailman sees the tag, he doesn't sleep until the package is safely at its destination!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28