You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The perks and downsides of being a woman in Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu

in #martialarts6 years ago

I am a guy but I train at a school that has by far the largest ladies program of the local area that I live in. So I am more experienced then most people with coed training.
I have to say that I think what you put in this writing was one of the best things I have read about it. Far too many people on either side of the coin put too much of their own ideas into the topic compared with experiences of the other side. And I think your view is pretty darn balanced.
I guess I do behave differently when I am rolling with a female training partner then when I roll with a guy. But not by much. I'm a rather big guy so I almost always am mindful of my size and strength even if I roll with another heavyweight. Obviously I am even more mindful when I roll with a female training partner most of whom are so much smaller then myself. I have noticed I give more advice to women, not because they need it but because they tend to listen more. Like if I am rolling with a girl and I notice a flaw in her strategy or the way she tried to execute a sweep I would just tell her. If I notice the same thing with a guy I usually ask him if he wants some advice because I have noticed when guys are new a lot of times they bring with them more attitude then I'd care to put up with.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88