Space Portal Vancouver, Market Friday with @dswigle

in #marketfriday5 years ago (edited)

Space Portal Vancouver

IMG_7303.jpg

Did you know that the Museum of Vancouver (MOV) sits adjacent to a portal to outer space? Well, it doesn't. Don't be silly. That's my job. Yeah, I call dibs on silly. Deal with it ... but not with humor. I looked and looked and these wooden virtue pebbles did not offer up silly. They wooden dare.

IMG_7300.jpg

No, you won't find a wormhole in an old wardrobe at MOV but you will find the H.R. Macmillian Space Center sharing its rafters and beams. So beam me down, Scotty, and we will take a peak into the gift shop.


There are more MOV-themed items on offer but they have one wall dedicated to a few out-of-this-world products. Dehydrated ice cream sandwiches, anyone? You can eat like a health-conscious astronaut never would ... but could ... in theory.


IMG_7299.jpg

A nostalgia-filled shopper can stock up on classic toys from sock monkeys to spinning tops. And pick-up-sticks, you remember that game? Wonder how it would fair in competition with candy crush?

IMG_7301.jpg

IMG_7308.jpg

You can also take home your favorite Canadian wild animal, not including Captain Kirk, but including this big guy to the left who guards the door against alien invasions. He must because you won't find any stuffed little green men or lanky Greys.


They had a whole lot of other products other than toys but for some reason toys were all that grabbed my attention on this trip into the shopping dimension. Must be the weekend and time to play:)

All photos are my own.

Sort:  

Oh, Pryde! This was a breath of fresh air. Ha! There is no air up there, don't be silly now! Oh, that shell of air disappears within 100km of where you are. Assuming you are playing a space cadet. Of sorts.

Oh, please let me have some of that silly? @tattoodjay and you cannot possibly use it all up? True?

The H.R. Macmillian Space Center would have been cool to see pictures of. I know. It is supposed to be a Market Day, but, I do love me some space junk. I can remember going to the Kennedy Space Center in Cape Canaveral when I was a kid and I just had to have some of that space ice cream! :)

Who didn't want to be a part of that team? I decided early on that although the thoughts of being an astronaut were tres cool, I wasn't sure I would be satiated diet wise. Who knew I would be a foodie, raise your hand!

I want to thank you for the fun post and yes! A 'bout of fun and stuff is always a great way to have my day go down! Thank you for being a part of the challenge and I hope you have a most wonderful weekend!

#MarketFriday loves you!

Upped and Steemed

!tip I ran out of money, honey! I'll run to the bank and be back later!

No worries:) LOL ... between you and @tatoodjay, I will have no silly left. Yeasss, you cab have some too. I was thinking the same thing about a shot of the outside but I did not have one handy. I am planning a trip to MOV next Thursday and so I promise to put in one then:):):)

I would love to go to space like in a huge life dome but I am telling you. It's gotta have gravity and coffee. Then I'm set:):):)

Loving you visit, Denise:):):)

What a cool and fun to read Market Friday post, I know you call dibs on Silly, but You may have to share I try to maintain a very high level of silliness which not many can keep up with:)

Thanks, JJ. It may be that there is enough silly to go around:):):)

I think so the world needs more fun and silliness these day s

Nice collection of gift shop in Museum of Vancouver.

Thank you, Kam:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66361.53
ETH 3253.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.43