My AMAZING Story For MarketFriday

in #marketfriday5 years ago (edited)

It has been a while since I participated in #MarketFriday, the weekly adventure hosted by the charming @dswigle. For full details, do go here and join in the fun!

I went to see my eldest grandson in his first speaking role as a budding actor. OK, he is just a fourth grader with one line in his class play, but he deserved an Oscar in my opinion. And a Tony and Grammy. 😁

Seriously, isn't this just the most adorable Thomas Jefferson you ever did see? And yes, my fourth grade grandson is as tall as I am already.... good thing he is such a nice kid!


20190307_200619.jpg

But what does this have to do with the market? Nothing, it is just why I was in "the big city" and I had to grab some coffee as my local store would be closed by the time we got home. I LOATHE shopping in the big city. I was also not much in the mood do deal with humans. In the past week I had the most incredible streak of crap from places I where I was trying to spend HUNDREDS of dollars. I made a post about the insane run-around that is still in progress from the Nectar mattress people. Well, the next day my coffee roaster broke down and we decided to upgrade to a real coffee roaster - I have used popcorn poppers for years. I was excited, I was going to buy myself a new toy, one that would make my life easier and my coffee better - YAY!!!

I will spare you the details, but it was a FOUR HOUR RUNAROUND that ended with me changing BANKS. They literally declined my purchase of under $500 because they deemed it an "unusual spending pattern." I had a couple grand in the account, it was ridiculous. How often do they think I ought to buy coffee roasters, and from whom do they authorize me to purchase one? If they thought my card was stolen, call me. That is why I gave them my phone number. It is embarrassing enough to have a card declined because you really are overdrawn. I know, I have done it. I have NOT done it in decades, and I have had this EXACT little drama play out with this bank before and was assured it would never happen again. (I kept thinking "This is why we can't have nice things. THE DAMN BANK WON'T LET ME ORDER THEM!" If not for dark humor I would have jumped in front of a truck long ago...)

At any rate, I was not feeling especially friendly as I stepped into line at the Winco, cash in hand to avoid any risk of further interference from my granny-nanny bank who might think it is time for me to give up coffee. The transaction began like all big city transactions, with inane niceties.

Cashier: "Hi! How is your day going?"

ME: (Socially obligated to lie because this woman really does NOT want to know how my day is going. Furthermore, I do not really care how HER day is going, I only hope to get in and out without having to wrestle anyone for my damn coffee. I slapped a smile on for public consumption, but I have not yet gotten my dose of grandsons so I am pretty cranky inside. Still, I know the drill.) "Fine" I reply. "How about you?"

Cashier: Stops for just a moment, makes eye contact with me, and says with all the sincerity in her soul: "AMAZING." She then gives me my total and asks if I need a bag....

With ONE WORD that woman changed my entire day. I have been back on the phone dealing with many of the same companies that had pushed me into a state of utter bitchiness, and they just do not irritate me as much. I keep remembering how AMAZING it is to be here, on this rock, at this time, with all these crazy humans sharing the journey with me... She might have changed my whole life.

So, I do not have a picture of the coffee I bought. I do not have a picture of the store where I bought it. What I hope to share with you for this week's Market Friday is what that lovely cashier shared with me... a little dose of




NAMASTE!!

Sort:  

I cannot even begin to tell you how awesome this post is!! 💖

If that person knew how much she changed your outlook, you can bet she would be engaging even more than she already does! Well, that is probably not possible, but, it would make her want to try. Isn't it funny how one response, one little moment out of your day can save your day? And my heart is warmed by the fact that you allowed it to happen. It would have been so easy in your state of mind to just let it gooooooo!

Thank you for that! :)

And despite the fact that you didn't have any of the stuff that makes a #MarketFriday a market (Neither did I, for that matter! LOL) if I had to choose the best post for the market, this would be it.

It put the biggest smile on my face!! And I love the fact that you shared it with us!

Hugs and love!💖

Upped and Steemed

!tip

Thanks for leading me here.

You know it is always my pleasure! ;)

You are just such a sweetie, I HAD to share this story with you!

I was so glad you did!!!!!

I laughed out loud twice. I agree with @dswigle, "awesome post".

@willowwisp It really is and she is a hoot and a holler! And so very real!!! That is what I love! You should follow her!

💖 You are so dang sweet! LOL

Thank you!😁

🎁 Hi @fishyculture! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Sublime Sunday With A Touch Of Color Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89