A WORLD OF CULTURE IN A COASTAL TOWN FOR #MARKETFRIDAY

in #marketfriday5 years ago

IMG_1152.JPG

Combine imagination, creativity and necessity and you get the perfect seaside experience. My husband calls me his hippie organic wife for a number of reasons. Barefeet, long skirts and my herbal solution to almost everything is one reason. The fact that I use imagination and creativity for even the basic necessities is another. And no, I did not park my little Bug on a pile of logs en route to the beach!

IMG_1141.JPG

The photos you are, hopefully, about to enjoy I took not too long ago on a short trip we took to the beautiful South African town of Knysna. It used to be a quaint coastal town but it has really exploded and become rather a tourist trap. The harbour is full of different types of marine life; boats, gulls and fisherman. It is also the ideal place to explore on a bicycle. There are still many old-world type gems, if you know where to look. As you enter Knysna, with the ocean on your right this unique sight greets you. An old bug, loaded with surf board ready for the beach.

IMG_1143.JPG

It isn't often that I join @dswigle for the festive #marketfriday. But I thought Knynsna, once again, a real little gem to contribute.

IMG_1068.JPG

At the entrance to a day market this artistic display greets you. I love the idea of creativity combined with necessity. The old farm implements have been artistically cut and hung making a unique feature. It appeals to my artistic nature as well as my homesteading mind.

IMG_1069.JPG

There are a number of pretty water features around the open market. As you sit at any number of the cafe's you hear the splash of water from these artistic fountains. Of course it attracts the children as much as the adults!

IMG_1071.JPG

The market supports rural community work. I love the idea and the efforts made to help the poorer communities. The upmarket market is quite an ironical contrast to the simple origins of their beautiful displays.

IMG_1113.JPG

The different stalls cover quite a selection of crafts from very different countries. Not only is it the artistic efforts of South Africans but also that of India and Peru.

IMG_1102.JPG

The idea of #marketfriday is to share and exchange the wonderful world of culture from different countries where we live or travel to. This little Knysna market is a world of diversity in one spot. The way I appreciate the colourful people and products is to sit quietly in a cafe, sipping a hot cappucino and watching the wonderful world go by.

IMG_1105.JPG

“A man should hear a little music, read a little poetry, and see a fine picture every day of his life, in order that worldly cares may not obliterate the sense of the beautiful which God has implanted in the human soul.”
― Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

IMG_1083.JPG

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Such a nice impression of your visit to the market. Very nice colorful photos.

Thank you for your kind words @bart2305

You're welcome Buckaroo

I love all the fun and interesting things you found on your trip.

Interesting indeed @jacey.boldart!

Your posts are always a delight, dear @buckaroo... we need more day trips methinks to get out and about in the world. We do so less as my son is now grown. Seemed with a kid getting out was a must. Can't recall last market I went to. This one sounds lovely x

Posted using Partiko Android

It definitely is largely inspired by children @riverflows! Although my little one is still too young to appreciate the details of the outings. And he far prefers our country home and all the animals than the big scary city....although he likes the ocean

I took Jarrah round Europe when he was 4,5... do you think he remembers much? But it does shape them..

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh, I didn't need your husband to tell me you have a hippie soul. ;) Yes, it is obvious, in a good way, of course.

Oh, I do so love this little seaside piece of tranquility. Even if it is not quiet, I think that it would be good for the soul. And yes, sitting in the cafe would be the only way to truly discover and bond with the feel of the town.

Not surprisingly, the different artwork and handcraft are very distinct especially from Peru, the personality of their art is all their own. One can look at it and it is identified immediately. I love the diversity of this coastal town and I love that you shared it with us, to give us a taste of South Africa and its ever-changing melting pot of nations.

Thank you so much for taking the time and energy to join the #MarketFriday Challenge! I appreciate it! I hope you have a most wonderul weekend!

Upped and Steemed

!tip

🎁 Hi @buckaroo! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Market Friday And The Christmas Tree Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

good shot and interesting blog , have a great day

Thank you for taking the time to read it @angeltirado

haha! howdy buckaroo! What a wonderful little town to visit. I love that place and you did a great job of showing it to us! So much culture in one spot, very interesting.

It is quite diverse @janton! And not so little any more

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63036.79
ETH 3067.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82