You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Market Friday goes to Gettysburg: Civil War Reenactment

in #marketfriday5 years ago

Reconstitution of a famous battle, I understand it's an important moment in US history. I learned something, as you wished.
The photo of the child soldier is better than anything ... it's incredible!
My little contribution from the sea ... An Unforgettable Holiday ... What My Wife Likes More!

Sort:  

Well, yes. It truly was!

Slavery played a central role during the American Civil War. The primary catalyst for secession was slavery, especially Southern political leaders' resistance to attempts by Northern antislavery political forces to block the expansion of slavery into the western territories. Source: Wiki

I couldn't have said it any better than that. It is not a proud moment in their history, but, it abolished slavery and did some other beneficial things for the US. Was it worth it? Is war ever? I would like to think that we could learn how to do things without killing each other.

Thank you for the compliment. He was so precious. I asked him if it was okay to take his picture in his handsome outfit. LOL I think he didn't think it was handsome. He was so adorable. I appreciate you dropping your link here and for leaving your words. And it looks like I get to go on vacation! Lucky me!!

#MarketFriday loves you!

!tip .20

Slavery was an abominable thing, so a war for its abolition was a necessary war. Still, it was more than that, I think. I don't think so many white people died just to free the black slaves.
If humanity could eliminate war and the possibility of killing people in a legal way ... then I think we can say that we are civilized.
Again I say, you managed a collection photo. I think you should transfer it on paper.
The holiday is coming! I am very happy for you. Be as long and beautiful as possible.
Have a nice weekend!

I pulled this off Google for you: Slavery was the major cause of the American Civil War, with the South seceding to form a new country to protect slavery, and the North refusing to allow that. Historians generally agree that other economic conflicts were not a major cause of the war.

I agree that if we could manage to put the guns down and find a peaceful resolution to things, the world would be a better place. But, then, what about those people that have no regard for human life? It matters not to them and that makes me so sad. How does one reason with that?

Thank you so much, Dan~! @bluemoon I hope you are having a wonderful time!

I must thank you although you proved me I was wrong. I'm glad I know the truth.
Always my pleasure to read your blogs and to "talk" with you!

Oh, it was no to prove you wrong. In my own way, I like to believe that slavery was so wrong, it was worth fighting against it. But, at what cost? Slavery did end, but, the lives lost along the way.

Le sigh.

Always a pleasure to talk to you!

I known you don't but you wanted to tell me the opinion of historians.
Of course slavery was wrong. I have always been with the Nordics (in movies) ... although the Southerners were presented as aristocrats.

In the upper part of the South, there was, what they presented as an aristocratic gentry, generation upon generation of whom had grown up with slavery, held a privileged place in society.

While that was not the Northern view or my view either, it is part of this thing called history. We can't change it.

Of course! We cannot change it but it's said that history can be repeated!

🎁 Hi @bluemoon! You have received 0.2 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Thanks, Denise!

My pleasure, Dan! @bluemoon

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61645.58
ETH 3013.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71