Mapsters, Introduce Yourselves in this Sub-Forum!

in #mapsters6 years ago (edited)

You have probably already written an introductory post on Steemit - it probably seems like a long time ago! You might also feel like rewriting it, but can't as the "introduce yourself" tags are supposed to be for newbies. How fair is that?!

Well, this #mapsters tag and forum is designed especially for you. Here you can re-introduce yourself to the MAP community, including your experiences on Steemit and the whole blockchain ecosystem, plus you can easily update it by adding a comment. As this is a forum, any new comment will bump up the original post to the top of the list.

This also means you can use this instead of the MAP "post-n-vote" channel on discord. I think it unwise to keep posting multiple links to your own new posts, but one comment under your own bio will do the trick! You can also add a brief comment on your article to make it more likely that members will come and look at it.

Also, a reminder that you must post within chainBB otherwise nobody in MAP will see it in the forum: https://chainbb.com/f/mapforum#mapsters.

This is all experimental! Let's see if it works!

Sort:  

Hmmm ... ok ... so ... as near as I can see it works this way (@rycharde can come correct when he's awake again)

It is critical that you follow the steps in this exact order ... otherwise you won't see what you need to see to do what you need to do.

  1. Log into https://chainbb.com/f/mapforum should bring you to the front page of the MAP Forum. Looking something like this:

  2. Each one of us writes a new post (for the blockchain that will be seen also on Steemit et al). Specifically, Write A New Intro Post.
    EDIT: FIRST click the #mapsters tag in the navigation grid that is below the Forum Description (It starts with the blue house) THEN Proceed to ...
    2a) Click the Post Button
    2b) Title your post @yourname Introduction to MAP (or some such)
    2c) If you use a photo, you will have to link to it on a 3rd party site (ie imgur)

  3. Use the tags in this order #mapsters #mapforum (plus 3 more)

  4. From this point on, add a comment to your "new intro post" when you write any other new posts.

OH AND To see the Mapster Posts Click on the #mapsters tag in the grid below the forum description (starts with a blue house)

It is exceedingly Important to follow steps 1 2 3 in order. Then the posts will behave correctly in our forum listings. This much I know for sure.

To start topics specific to the forum (Like "help with posting to the forum") use the #mapforum tag first.

Here's my very FAST example https://chainbb.com/mapforum/@marillaanne/marillaannes-very-fast-intro-for-the-map-group-forum

Enjoy,
Marilla Anne
Your friendly Navigator

Did I do it right? If not, tell me how to fix it, please!

Yes. :-) very right. You can now (as of yesterday) post on any STEEM platform using the #mapsters tag and it will show up in the forum. I really recommend reading and replying in the forum. It keeps the most recent posts and the posts with recent comments at the top.

Great post. Very interesting and good idea. That would give us a chance to say something else about ourselves that we might have forgotten to say.

Exactly! And update your "bio" whenever necessary too :-)

This could be interesting. I've never thought of reposting my Intro. I've introduced my husband, and I might do the same if family members join, but I think for people who have some form of relevancy to use the tag but can't because it's for new people, this could prove useful and helpful.

I think it's a good idea.

Indeed a great idea @rycharde, will check it out as soon as our speed is restored! Blessings! Stephen

Thanks a lot - and good luck with the speed!

BTW am giving out some free upvotes for a few days to encourage our Mapsters to port over from discord but... you must be logged in to chainBB :-)

But thanks for your comments.

Anyone with bright ideas, feel free to chip in - let's explore the potential of this updated platform!

TEST- So ...Hi Steemians! I'm @melinda010100 and I joined Steemit in May of 2017, but was completely lost here and didn't make my first post until a month later. etc.

And then in comments under this comment Ipost links to my current posts?

Is that how this will work? Would I have to sift through everyone's comments to find mine again to add a second link to one of my posts?

Great idea @rycharde !

So reintroducing myself, i've joined steemit back at the end of August 2017, some time later joined in with cool MAP team :P
I'm mostly a computer science background, so i love technology in general.
I'm an entrepreneur, i've left my last corporate role back in 2015, and started my own business, in the software .. duh :P
I also enjoy everything scientific, which is mostly the topic of my posts here.

Fun fact: I am tri-lingual, so you might see posts from me in English, French, or Arabic

Anything further you'd like to know? feel free to ask :D

hmm, I only see the reply option. Where do we actually post a new post? Arghhhh. Instructions please :) :(

Well, I just did a post and have no idea where it went....

lol ok I was just thinking ... there's actually a lot of other clicking around .. ok .. i'll sort through it.

Edit: ... Ok I edited my instructions. https://chainbb.com/mapforum/@rycharde/mapsters-introduce-yourselves-here#marillaanne/re-rycharde-mapsters-introduce-yourselves-here-2017119t165957724z

Just go to https://chainbb.com/f/mapforum#mapsters
and click Post

or just follow @marillaanne's mini-tutorial.

so, what I am seeing here is that a direct reply to a reply a forum thread post just shows up wherever in the sequence. Here on steemit as well.

This looks promising. I'm very busy as you know, but I will dive into it this weekend. I see a lot of puppets without faces, so I have no idea of who is who here in the group. I assume the same as the MAP members, I'll chek it as soon as I'm done writing. Thanks for the invitation @rycharde. If I didn't have you, I'd still be searching what this whole steem, steemit and other things were about ;)
See you later!

Kind of awkward to reintroduce myself, but what the heck.
I'm Carl, I live in Almere and I'm a writer. I mostly write fiction and poetry and columns.
I was introduced to the MAP with the six of the best projekt, for which I was selected a long time ago, so it feels.
In fact I'm only at steemit since August of this year, so it isn't that long.
I'm the father of two other steemians, @chemene and @sharrie96
I am married, have three kids, a dog, a cat, a parakeet and a hedgehog. All rescued from a certain death.
There's not much more to know about me, jsut check out my posts, it's a lot of fiction, Uncle Frank, the dreamland series, and sometimes I trow in a little poem, that's it I guess ;)
See ya'll later, greetings from Holland!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00