Most evil software organizations, projects and corporations you should never install again

in #malware6 years ago
  1. Microsoft
    Windows gives you less and less control over your PC as time passes. If you have Windows, no antivirus or additional program can protect your anonymity and privacy.
    Windows is spyware itself.
    Microsoft also serially ditches updates for its older OSs, forcing users to adopt its newer products.

  2. Mozilla
    Firefox, the open source project ditched its option to disable javascript content by default and manually allowing exceptions

  3. McCaffee
    If you installed stinger, you also got "Real Protect".
    Good luck trying to uninstall either one of them

  4. Piriform
    CCleaner contained malware

BTW, Ubuntu contained "Unity" which was an unwanted adware.
I almost included revo uninstaller which seems to add little to none functionality over the intentionally crippled menu of MS Windows.
It did not help me remove Mccaffee's "Stinger" and "Real Protect"
Neither did it help me remove the Yontoo once I got it, but then nothing did until I overran MS Windows boot sector with some version of Linux'.
Comments, remarks, suggestions, information about omissions on my part, additional entries, deeds, help instructions welcome.

Sort:  

This post has received a 18.07 % upvote from @steemdiffuser thanks to: @stimialiti. Steem on my friend!

Above average bids may get additional upvotes from our trail members!

Get Upvotes, Join Our Trail, or Delegate Some SP

Problems being exposed is good, but for most people, there is a sense of helplessness, as they do not know how to protect themselves.

It would be good to see a report on OS and browsers that are expecially geared for security and anonymity. How good are they? Do you know enough about the subject to provide such info?

I am helpless right now.
I did not find a good exchange that will work for me.
I fear the move to Linux, but I know I should do it.
I know Dell, Intel and Microsoft have back doors and am using this trinity right now.
I do not know enough about the subject to provide such info, but I know that the LINUX community knows much more than I know, and they believe in LINUX' superiority, and I almost completely agree, except from their impotence to provide a hybernation state and possibly a few other issues.
LINUX is safer than Windows for sure.
Windows is worse than garbage, it is evil by design.
It is a malware in itself.
TOR is a browser geared for anonymity.
I read that once you download it, you are added to a list of the CIA, or was it NSA or was it FBI?

However you can probably download it in some public PC, copy it on a DOK/flash device/USB drive and then take it home and install it.
edit: But if you install it on a Windows PC, you turn yourself out.

Tor is a leap of faith.

The more who sign up and use it, the safer it is for everyone.

Check this out, it was suggested to me:

https://linuxmint-installation-guide.readthedocs.io/en/latest/choose.html

The other way to go is to use an OS (Linux) on a CD

Tor is a leap of faith.

What does it mean?

The more who sign up and use it, the safer it is for everyone.

Why?

I once tried to install a very clean and fundamentalist version of LINUX.
I found myself unable to scroll the mouse in my Laptop without attaching a physical mouse to it.
It had little to no hardware support for my laptop, which is both old (2010) and common.
And did not I mention the hybernation state in LINUX?
This is a bad way to try to gain market share.

Thanks for the greengrowth upvote...

I'm glad you brought me back here, as it made me see that I did not answer your question.

Re Tor: If you use Tor, you get to surf after going through 3 computers, randomly selected from around the world, with each one encrypting and scrubbing your IP address.

The advantages of having many people using it are two:

  1. It is more difficult to pick out a user when there are millions using Tor, as the user does not stand out as an exception (ie, as someone who must have something to hide).
  2. Certain methods are used for trying to tie the time of data-flow from and to your computer to tie them in with similar timing at the site you are visiting, especially if there are only a few Tor users. For them to instantly check on millions of users makes it less likely to happen.

I don't know if you are aware, Tor was developed by the U.S. Navy, as a method for them to communicate securely.

Thanks for the greengrowth upvote...

Someone sent it 0.1 by a terrible mistake which happened to me before, and made it much smaller than I thought it would be.
It turned to be a no vote.

I'm glad you brought me back here, as it made me see that I did not answer your question.

With my replies section filled with bot replies and my time wasted on vote bidding frenzy, and yet having additional things to do, I find myself missing on replies from time to time.

Re Tor: If you use Tor, you get to surf after going through 3 computers, randomly selected from around the world, with each one encrypting and scrubbing your IP address.

The advantages of having many people using it are two:

  1. It is more difficult to pick out a user when there are millions using Tor, as the user does not stand out as an exception (ie, as someone who must have something to hide).
  2. Certain methods are used for trying to tie the time of data-flow from and to your computer to tie them in with similar timing at the site you are visiting, especially if there are only a few Tor users. For them to instantly check on millions of users makes it less likely to happen.

Appreciate your answer.
I did not know any of it before.

I don't know if you are aware, Tor was developed by the U.S. Navy, as a method for them to communicate securely.

I was aware about this, and it is potentially a drawback.
If it is open source which was studied enough, it might make things better, but if its entire communication has been tracked since its inception, it makes it far less private/anonymous as far as my lacking comprehension of the subject implies.

I would think it is the other way around. The navy needed maximum security. Then it was, at first, made available to help the Chinese go on the internet without their government seeing what they do or say.

When it became open source, those who contributed were avid privacy advocates. I think that what the navy handed over hardly bears much resemblance to what is available today.

Unfortunately, in these last few years, they have been concentrating on making it easier for new users, but the good side of it is that millions more are now using Tor. They have also made it possible for users to choose to use more than 3 computers for hiding behind - I think that if your line is fast, you can now use up to six - which I think makes it as safe as you can get.

There is also the possibility of having your Exit Node got to another anonymity platform which adds to the security. For a while I used a German one, but my line was too slow to continue.

Re Bots:
If you check my posts, you'll see I hardly ever have a bot call on me - as I ignore them all. It seems that as soon as you sign up with one, they all hear about it.

It must be similar to the way the gypsies (or hoboes) work. One comes to your house and you give them food or money, and your home gets marked so that others also know you are a soft touch.

Loading...

You got a 10.23% upvote from @whalecreator courtesy of @stimialiti! Delegate your Steem Power to earn 100% payouts.

@youtake pulls you up ! This vote was sent to you by @stimialiti!

You got a 16.42% upvote from @profitbot courtesy of @stimialiti!
Join our team and delegate your SP to earn passive income.
Get part of 85% @profitbot profit based on your delegated SP
by clicking on one of the ready to delegate links:
10SP|20SP|50SP|75SP|100SP|200SP|300SP|500SP|1000SP|custom

@youtake pulls you up ! This vote was sent to you by @stimialiti!

You got a 9.09% upvote from @greengrowth thanks to @stimialiti! You too can use @GreenGrowth by sending your post URL in the memo field to the bot. Minimum bid is 0.01.

If you feel this post is spammy or not worthy of @Greengrowth you can contact a moderator in our Discord Channel https://discord.gg/6DhnVTQ.

You got a 20.00% from @th3voter thanks to: @stimialiti!


kitten fighting :)
Image Source cloudinary.com


This post has upvoted from @th3voter !For more information, click here!

You can earn daily profit by delegating SP to our bot, 98% of earnings paid out to delegators. To do so, click below:
30SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP, 10000SP,
Custom Amount
Make sure you have at least 15 SP left on your account.

You got upvoted from @adriatik bot! Thank you to you for using our service. We really hope this will hope to promote your quality content!

You got a 15.02% upvote from @luckyvotes courtesy of @stimialiti!

You got a 100.00% upvote from @greengrowth thanks to @stimialiti! You too can use @GreenGrowth by sending your post URL in the memo field to the bot. Minimum bid is 0.01.

If you feel this post is spammy or not worthy of @Greengrowth you can contact a moderator in our Discord Channel https://discord.gg/6DhnVTQ.

You got a 16.67% upvote from @sleeplesswhale courtesy of @stimialiti!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66269.58
ETH 3204.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.24