Makeover Monday - Cover Songs From Television Shows Pt. 2

in #makeovermonday6 years ago
Today's #makeovermonday is going to focus on covers that I have heard from various television shows or were mentioned in a previous post that I checked out, with the exclusion of "Glee". This is mainly because all they did on that show were covers. Many of you were surprised by the voice on Katey Sagal (Peg Bundy from _Married With Children_) so don't be surprised to see her pop up on the list quite often. So, my dear readers, I would like your input on the selections I have chosen. Should they have been remade and covered, or should they have just been left alone? That's the question for this week's post. I will also give a brief description of the show that the song was featured in and try to give a little insight if I can. Certainly, some cover songs are very noteworthy while others, well, not so much! So, let's get started.

1.Just Like Heaven by Joy Zipper as featured on Season 10 of Grey's Anatomy. I've always loved this song and I've heard a cover of it by another artist named Katie Melua before. So, it's no surprise that when I saw this song listed, I had to give it a listen. The Cure originally came out with this tune back in 1987. Robert Smith fronted the British band and they have always been a favorite of mine.

2.Higher Ground by Franky Perez & The Forest Rangers as featured on Sons of Anarchy. I must admit that Kurt Sutter knows what he is doing when it comes to choosing music for his television shows and how it should sound for the theme of the show and the scenario. This version is no different. It's a little rock and a little rock-a-billy at the same time to me. Originally released in 1973 by Stevie Wonder, this song was very funkadelic and was later popularized by the Red Hot Chili Peppers.

3.Wicked Game by Emika as featured on The Blacklist. This song was originally released by Chris Isaak back in 1989. I heard this version while watching The Blacklist and thought it had an interesting sound to it. What do you think?

Sort:  

Higher Ground is such an iconic song. Probably one of my favorites by Stevie. Great covers!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ilsaione from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25