Blog Post Checklist (Keyword Research, SEO, Headline) | Things To Do Before Publishing Every Blog Post

in #make3 years ago

Many people think blogging is all about writing quality articles, which is true. But there are so also many other things you have to do as a blogger. Writing blog posts is just a small part of that. If you are a blogger, then you know how much work we put on a blog post, apart from writing it.

If you are a beginner blogger or thinking about starting a blog, then this article is for you.

This article is a continuation of my blog post 14 Things To Know And Do Before Starting A Blog. So if you haven’t checked that yet, do check it by clicking here.

In this article, I’m going to show you my blog post checklist, things that I do before publishing my every blog post. So let’s get started:

image.png

Blog Post Checklist | Things To Do Before Publishing Every Blog Post

1. Keyword Research

What is keyword research?

Many people don’t know what keyword research is all about. And many people choose broad keywords based on keywords’ search volume for their articles. Which is not a good SEO strategy. For a blogger, Keyword Research is a process of finding a perfect keyword for their blog posts.

I do my keyword research before I start writing my articles.

What things to keep in mind during the keyword research?

There are three important things you have to keep in mind when you do your keyword research:

1. The keyword must be relevant: The keyword you choose it should be a relevant keyword to your article. So you can mention it multiple times in your blog post (As SEO guidelines say).
2. Search volume of that keyword: Search volume gives an idea of how much the keyword is popular. And it shows you the estimated number of searches for that keyword in a month.
3. How competitive the keyword is: Most of the time, when the search volume of a keyword is high, then the competition is also high for ranking with that keyword. So choosing a popular keyword with high competition isn’t a good strategy, especially if your blog is young. It’s pretty much impossible to rank with high competitive keywords when your blog is quite new. Always choose a keyword that has some search volume and less competitive.

Which tool do I use to do my keyword research?

I use Long Tail Pro for doing my keyword research. This tool is very useful, it saves my lot of time. You can easily find some low competition keywords by using Long Tail Pro. It gives you lots of information about a keyword. This is a premium tool which you can use for $25 dollar a month. Use my discounted link for 30% off.

If you cannot afford a premium SEO tool, then I suggest you Ubersugget free keyword research tool.

2. Creating A Catchy Title Using Headline Analyzer

When I have an appropriate keyword for my article, I look forward to creating an eye-catching title for that article. Having a catchy headline is one of those marketing strategies that helps you to grab the audience’s attention.

Why does the title matter…?

The title matter because it is what people see when they have caught your article on search appearance, social media, or any other platform. If your title is not attractive enough and emotionally appealing for people, then you might lose some visitors for your blog.

So how can you create titles that attract people’s attention?

In my perspective, a headline analyzer is a perfect answer to this question. A headline analyzer helps you to analyze your headlines/titles. It shows you how much your headline is effective, and what factors it already has and what can be improved. So you can easily tweak it to increase its potential of attention-grabbing.

Which Headline Analyzer I use for creating catchy titles?

I use a free Headline Analyzer from CoSchedule. It’s very user friendly and easy to use. It does all the things I just mentioned above. Here a screenshot of this tool.

image.png

3. Checking Article For Grammatical Errors

Once you finish writing your blog post, it is time to proofread and find grammatical errors in it.

Why does it matter, and which tool I use…?

I made lots of mistakes when I write my articles because my English is not too strong. I don’t know a large amount of vocabulary, so I play with limited words on my blog posts. And that increases the chances of making grammatical mistakes. But, I feel blessed to have this tool called Grammarly. This free tool helps me a lot to identify those grammar mistakes. Now I can find those mistakes quickly and fix them.

I know this scenario is relatable for many of you. So if this a concern for you to have mistakes in your articles, I highly recommend you to use Grammarly. It will help you to produce content with minimal grammatical errors.

4. Checking Article For Any Plagiarism Phrase

Believe it or not, in this online world, small mistakes can be the reason for hurting you badly. The copyright claim is one of the things that every blogger shouldn’t want in their blogging career.

Sometimes when we are writing our articles, we wrote some exact phrases that already available on the internet without having the intention of writing duplicate content. So it’s very important to check our articles for any plagiarism. If you find any duplicate phrase in your article, then consider deleting it or re-writing it in your own writing style.

You can use any plagiarism checker tool for finding any duplicate phrase in your article. I use Plagiarism Checker by SmallSEOTools.

5. Designing Graphics For A Blog Post

I use graphics on my blog posts. If you are a blogger, then it’s obvious you’re also using graphics on your blog.

But this sub-topic is not about how to use graphics or why to use graphics in blog posts. This is all about the graphics that are required for a blog post. (especially for my blog posts, maybe it’s not required for you and any other bloggers. And it’s apart from designing some crazy infographics and illustrations, because not every blogger is a professional graphic designer.)

What I mean by designing graphics for a blog post?

My mean by designing graphics for a blog post is that creating some basic graphics like Pinterest pins and featured images, which we add on our blog posts. So if you have these kinds of requirements for your blog posts, then you have to design them before publishing your article.

Which tool do I use for designing my graphics?

Canva, this online graphic designing tool has all the basic features that you need for designing a significant graphic. It’s very easy to use and gives you lots of Templates, Elements, Stock Images, etc. which you can use for creating beautiful graphics.

How many graphics I usually design for a post?

I usually create four graphics for a blog post. Two of them are dedicated to Pinterest so that anyone can save them on Pinterest. And two ones are social media featured images for that blog post. These pictures only appear on social media. It is not part of the blog post. If you are wondering why two images for social media, then here is a thing behind it. My blog is on WordPress, and I use the Yoast SEO plugin. It gives me the option to choose featured images for Facebook and Twitter shares. That’s why I create two graphics for both platforms.

image.png

6. SEO

This is the last thing on my blog post checklist, which I do before publishing my blog post.

Why does SEO matter…?

I think many of you know about SEO and why it is important, but if you don’t know anything about it, then keep reading.

SEO stands for Search Engine Optimization, which means you optimize your content for search engines. It helps search engines to understand what your article is all about, so they suggest your blog post when someone searches for that topic.

It seems that there is no need to mention how much capable search engines are for driving traffic to your blog. If your articles are ranking on the search engines, then you definitely get some organic traffic on your blog.

How I optimize my blog posts for search engines?

As I mentioned in this article, my blog is on WordPress, and I use the Yoast SEO plugin. This plugin helps me to do on-page SEO for my blog posts. It suggests improvements based on your targeted keyword that I can improve. It also gives you other SEO related useful features, that you can use for optimizing your content and make it more SEO friendly.

What things I do for making my blog posts SEO friendly?

If you don’t have a WordPress blog, then you might not be able to use the Yoast SEO plugin. So here are things that I do and you can also do for making your article more SEO friendly:

Meta description – The meta description of a blog post keeps the information about that blog post. So write a short description for your blog post. Try to add your target keyword within it. Make sure it comes under 156 characters so it will be fully visible on the search appearance.

image.png

Alt text for images – When your blog posts’ images do not load properly, alt text appears on behalf of that. And it also describes the purpose of any picture that your blog has(For search engines). So, add alt text for every picture you have on your blog post. Try to add your targeted keyword within the alt text for 60%-70% of your blog post’s images.

image.png

Keyword adding – Mentioning the exact keyword multiple times in the article is one of the tactics of on-page SEO. So try to add naturally the exact targeted keyword multiple times in your article before publishing it.

Internal linking – This means hyperlinking previously published articles to your new blog post. It’s one of the ways of generating backlinks for your articles. So try to interlink your already published blog posts. I use two ways to interlink my blog posts. Look at the pictures down below.

image.png

Note:- It’s not easy to get appeared on search results and start getting traffic on your blog, especially when your blog is too young. It took time to give the results. Now you are working on the base, by doing these SEO tactics.

Read also7 Things To Do After Publishing A Blog Post

What Next?

Now it is your turn to take steps and use this blog post checklist before publishing your blog post. I know many of you already familiar with lots of things from this blog post checklist, and many of you heard these terms for the first time. So share your experience in the comment section about this blog post checklist.

Above featured Blog Post Checklist (Keyword Research, SEO, Headline), Shows you a blog post checklist that I follow before publishing my any article. Hopefully, this article provides you better insights about my blog post checklist. Please let me know in the comment section what you think about this article.

Share this article if you enjoyed it and subscribe to our newsletter for future notifications.

Thank you!

image.png

Source - https://pandamakingmoney.com/blog-post-checklist/

Follow us:-

Website - https://pandamakingmoney.com/
Twitter - https://twitter.com/Lomash_Kumar98
Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/PandaMakingMoney
Pinterest - https://pinterest.com/pandamakingmoney/
Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/lomash__kumar/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70744.80
ETH 3561.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.80