the art of seeing



I walk
I see
I stop
I photograph
Leon Levinstein, 1955


Macro is the art of making something small look big and detailed.

Most equate macrophotography with insects or flowers. There are incredible and creative macro shots of those, don't get me wrong. I appreciate them.

For me though, macro photography is about focusing on the things I don't usually catch with my naked eye — be it a texture, light, a pattern, or a sequence of an object that I might not notice otherwise.

I have learned that I like texture and sequence and patterns. I didn't realize this until I started studying photos and noting that I have themes in my photography that I wasn't aware of until I became more serious with my hobby.

The four leaf clover below is a case in point. I looked among the rows and rows of them neatly lined up on metal tables and thought they were interesting because I don't see them often except during St Patrick's Day.

However, after studying one plant for a bit I started picking out other bits of the plant, like the veining on the petals and the tiny hairs on the edges. I watched how the light affected my view.

When I uploaded the photo to my computer I saw even more things. The camera captured color variations that were too small for my eye to detect. There were tiny bits of white that were shrouded by some shading and of course the background was all soft and blurred.

DSC_0858.jpg
ISO100 | 52mm | f/6.3 | 1/15s

Looking at a glass bowl filled with beads of different sizes, I caught a glimpse of light reflections bouncing around the circular pieces. After the photo was uploaded to LR, I detected a slight dust cover along the edges of the top beads and a world of beads within the beads.

These minute details became the focus of my photos.

DSC_0641.jpg
ISO100 | 190mm | f/11 | 1/400s



a photograph is a secret about a secret
MadelFie



photos by
signature.png
Nikon D3100
Nikkor Lens 18-55mm | 55mm-200mm | 55mm f/1.8
Adobe Lightroom

©All rights reserved, 2018



Thank you @juliank
for initiating the Monday to Friday photography contests.

Sort:  

Thank you for posting @countrygirl.

Very much enjoyed reading the text and then reading the photographs.....a lovely capture of the details to be had by means of the camera. So very well done.

All the best to you.

Cheers.

Thanks @bentleycapital. I appreciate your comment and kind words as usual. All the best to you too!

Excellent job!!

Macro and mono - an unbeatable combo - Great photography

...weaving the micro together with the macro so that it has a hold on people - that's writing...
Atul Gawande

Hah....who knew. :)

Love the reflection within that small sphere. Beads inside one bead...beautiful!

Thank you Di! It's actually pretty in color too....I was standing outside a bridal store and all these reflections kept catching the side of my eye. When I saw what was causing it - I felt like a little kid in a candy store. I'm posting the other shiny stuff tomorrow.

So creative, I love the detail of the clover along with your description. Because the photo is black and white your mind tries to image the true colors- the blurred background makes it dreamy. Beautiful shots.

You try to imagine the true colors huh? I do that as well. So I'll tell you. The dark inner parts are purple and the outer of course green. The background is tree bark. Very woodsy.

I really love macro!!!! I agree - you see SOOOOO many things that you would have never noticed!!! it's so nice to take the time to appreciate the little details :) beautiful work!

You like macro eh? I do too. It's not as easy as I thought, mind you. The hardest part for me is keeping still ... and keeping the focus on what I want to focus on. Glad you like the photos!

Yes I remember one of your sets of macros that has m&ms in a dish lolol
I really loved that series!!

Oh yes....I recall that as well. :) mmmmmmmm m&m's.

Love these photos and the detail they show. You are right, we miss so much with the naked eye. It is only when we capture the images do we really see.

Are you waiting with bated breath for you camera? You'll have so many things to photograph!!

I can't wait! It has been a month and sometimes packages can take two or three months to arrive :{

ugh.....I'm very impatient about waiting.....I think you'll have to do a post about this :) lol

The 'Art of Seeing,' is a great gift to have @countrygirl and I have learned to appreciate the intricate details when taking macro shots. I continue to try harder with macrophotography as I really enjoy it.

It does take an eye for detail and a lot of patience. And a lot of blurred photos!!! lol. Those are the best :)

So true @countrygirl When I compare what I used to produce (and feel proud of) I see considerable improvement with what I am achieving nowadays. Patience isn't quite the challenge when we're passionate about our interests is it?

You're right about patience being a burden vs just a thing we have to accomplish what we enjoy.

That's mouthful :)

The clover remind me of hydrangea in black and white. You got some great lines here:)

Thanks @prydefoltz. Why did you think of hydrangea?

So much to think about for one shot isn't there :)

This was a photo I was working on a while back ...Screen Shot 2018-03-21 at 8.47.27 AM (1).jpg

Oh the actual flower....yes I can see the similarities. Your photo looks like a pencil or charcoal sketch. Nicely done.

Thanks, Deb. Didn't actually use this version in the end. But love making photographs look painting and drawings ... it kind of like deconstructive art but not really:)

It is isn't it? I enjoy playing around with edits too.....I'm not that good at it yet, but it's relaxing if anything.

It sure is:)

Very nice post!Thank You for sharing!The Macro world is so amazing always discovering new knowledge.

Thanks so much @waterfordguy!! Btw....I checked out your website of photos - made me homesick for Waterford. I miss the big sky and slow lifestyle. So it was good to see all my familiar haunts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28