Big Buzzing Bug! 'The COCKCHAFER!' - #macrophotography #adsactly this one is for @trucklife-family :)

in #macrophotography6 years ago (edited)

We had a visitor in the lounge last night, he decided he wanted to fly in and say hi! He was 2" long! No joke! He was a very noisy buzzer too and scared the beejeebies out of me! lol

Once my husband had captured him in a glass and was about to release him back into the garden, I came out from my hiding place with a light-bulb moment. Where is my camera!!!

So here are some macro shots of the little fella before we released him back into the wild.

I have no idea what kind of bug he is, but he was definitely a feisty one! If you know what kind he is, please let me know in the comments :) - Edit: Thanks to @trucklife-family, we now know this little fella is a 'Cockchafer!' :D Check out her link below, it is really interesting!

Don't forget to click the images for the full screen effect...

bug.JPG

bug3.JPG

bug2.JPG

bug5.JPG

bug8.JPG

bug7.JPG

bug6.JPG

Check out his eyebrows! :D please note, no bugs were harmed during the making of this post lol

These photos are my own taken with my Nikon D5300 using my 90mm Macro Lens.

Thank you for looking, much love @beautifulbullies xx

Sort:  

Those are very cool pictures of him and through glass too. I suppose he couldn't say no to being told to 'keep still'.

Haha I did ask him if he would pose for me but he didn't seem to impressed! xD

Seeing photos like this help me have good feelings towards bugs that terrify me because they're so strange, really nice work!

Thank you! 😀 I have to admit it is helping me to appreciate bugs in a whole new light haha

I think its a May bug bloody buggers always fly into me. Thankfully not seen any this year! 💯🐒

Yes it is! :D also known as doodlebugs or cockchafers! They are huge arent they lol

Massive just watch out for them flying into your face bloody hurts 💯🐒

That's very brave of you, not sure if I would dare to get that close to it

Once he had been contained it wasnt so bad lol

I'm not a big fan of insects hahaha, but the photos are amazing, really good job!

Beautiful photos of an uninvited visitor, and one I don't believe I've ever seen before. Thank you for that.

We have a 'desert Cockroach' that will get to that size, and I truly do not like to see them in my house :) Scorpions will get that size or larger, too.

Thanks for some marvelous pictures of your guest. I appreciate them.

Thank you @bigtom13 :) I have to say I wasn't impressed with him flying in at first, but I am glad he did now as I have learned all about the little guy! :D Scorpions however..! We don't have them in this country, I would love to see some pictures of them closeup, but I don't think I would be brave enough to take them lol

Wow those are incredible shots! I remember last year chasing around a bee to try to get macro shots which definitely were NOT with my lens haha ;) I think it's really important to bring attention to the bees right now, especially with them being so threatened :( Thanks for sharing! Amazing photography my friend <3

Thank you so much :) I absolutely agree with you about the bees! It is so important right now to create healthy habitats or we are going to lose them! I have actually left the weeds in my garden this year on purpose because we have loads of dandelions and the bees love them! They are still pretty to look at too, even though they are thought of as weeds :)

Oh my goodness well the thing about dandelions is they have SO MUCH HEALING POTENTIAL and people just weed wack them away! You know, washed, they can be used in salad, teas, for wine, tinctures etc... I read a whole book recently on all of the uses. Sadly, I don't see any growing here in Bali where I am living now but they used to grow in my yard in Canada. Maybe you can play with them in your kitchen too ;) Thank you for helping save the bees! <3

Wow look at that, how beautiful it is , this one is a cockchafer beetle, amazing how soft and velvety the look up close and those amazing antennae they are out of this world. Thank you so much for these photos me and my girls love them xxx
https://www.buglife.org.uk/bugs-and-habitats/common-cockchafer

He was gorgeous once I got over my fear! I think I am gradually curing myself of my phobias with photography! haha I love the info, thank you so much for posting that! I especially love this part, it made me chuckle... "A less conventional approach was taken during 1320, when the cockchafers (as a species) were taken to court in Avignon where they were ordered to leave town and relocate to a specially designated area, or be outlawed." How funny is that! xD Not so funny that the poor things were exterminated though, but great to see they are making a comeback. I live in the woods and there are hundreds of these little fellas flying about, they regularly dive bomb me in the garden lol I am pleased to finally know what they are! :D xx

June bugs. Here in New England usually almost the first day of June, we get 'june bugs' flying and tapping on the screens and windows. Puss likes to 'play' with them :)

lol yea, I had to keep the dogs away from him, they seemed very keen on 'playing' too haha

DAmn cute bug!!! i think he needs petting

I love his fur! It looks strokeable lol xD

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14