Getting Fit starting now

in #loseit5 years ago

Today my partner and I got on the scale and the numbers were kind of scary. Neither of us are grossly obese, especially her, but we aren't as healthy as we once were. We have a toddler now and both of us run our own consulting business, so this doesn't make a stress-free life easy.

Anyway, I decided today that I would get back on track NOW!

I have gotten myself in a place that I am happy with my weight and energy before, and I'm taking a similar approach this time. However, now that I'm older I need to pay more attention to the type of weight that I am losing and make sure that I am doing everything that I can to maintain (or maybe even grow) the lean tissue that I have. I'm not a small person (even when I'm fit) but growing muscle only gets harder with age.

The Plan

To get started I'm going to be eating based loosely on CarbNite and Slow-Carb. I will be eating very low calories, with even lower carbs, the goal is to keep the carbs low so if I feel hungry I will go over the calories rather going over the carbs. Then once a week (or so) I will eat all the carbs in the afternoon. The actual amount will depend entirely on how much I did the week before. I will have a limit on this and will be tracking that too.


CW 282 | 38.1% BF | Mostly sedentary

  • 1500 kcal Goal, a 40% deficit.
  • 50g Carbohydrates
  • 150g Protein
  • 78g Fat

The Tracking

I am using [LoseIt] (https://loseit.com) to track everything that I'm eating and will plug in the numbers for the food and such there. I will also be using a custom spreadsheet that I created to track everything else like minimum calories and protein (I don't want to lose lean mass), daily weight, expected goals based on macros, etc.

I put all my information into a Keto Calculator to come up with what my minimum calories, protein, and weight loss may look like. I WON'T BE IN KETOSIS. I am not planning to be in ketosis all the time, that is NOT the goal, but this calculator seems to be the best out there, and they have sources for all of the calculations that they make.

Not just food

This plan doesn't just use food as the way to weight loss, however, that is one of the more important things. I am preparing a plan for exercise, sleep hygiene, stress management, and routines. As they start to come together I will make a post here.

The real goal

The real goal of this plan is to take 2019 and be ready for middle age, I'm not as young as I once was and I don't want to start having aging problems in my 40s and 50s when it is extremely hard to lose weight, gain muscle, etc. By then my knees and shoulders may not have it in them to just work harder, etc.

I want to extend my health span while it's still relatively easy.

Follow me on my journey. I'm posting weekly progress updates with tips I learn along the way, resources that you can use for your resolutions, and much more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14