Album: Northern Lights

Hi all! I hope you're enjoying these longer posts. I thought I'd throw together an album of all the pictures I've captured of the Alaskan northern lights - arguably one of the most beautiful things that occurs in nature. I get chills whenever I'm lucky enough to witness them. Especially when it's 0 °F outside xD
Enjoy!


DSC_0843.jpg

Click on the image to view full screen


DSC_0340.jpg

Click on the image to view full screen


NorthernLightsBDPR (2).jpg

Click on the image to view full screen


DSC_0351 (2).jpg

Click on the image to view full screen


DSC_0564-01.jpg

Click on the image to view full screen


LRM_EXPORT_20160902_055830 (4).jpg

Click on the image to view full screen


Sort:  

Damn it, it’s been so long since I last saw northern lights. I might need to drive up north during this winter if I want to see any.

I'd do it :) I don't see them often in Homer, but every once in a while I'll be up at just the right time.

That is amazing! Fingers crossed I will see that once in my lifetime! The one with you standing in front of it is almost like you are standing in front of a painting ;)

I hope you do! That's my brother, I used him as my model, haha. I might get to see the Aurora Australis pretty soon in Australia as well.

Oh your brother...sorry for that :) Those Australia photos will probably be amazing too. I'll be patiently waiting. (again)

It's all good! Yeah, I can't wait to be there.

Fantastic shots! The shot with you is really cool.

Thanks! It's my brother :)

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #longexposurephotography, the weekly selection will be released on Monday.

You have earned 5.60 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 1/5
Multiplier: 1.12
Server time: 00:47:12
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 276.36/400.00
Total Photos: 18
Total comments: 19
Total contest wins: 4
And have also received a 1.22 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Arguably? Well, I'm not going to be the one to argue it! :)

Me neither! ;D

Are you up near a latitude with Whitehorse?

Yes! Actually slightly further south, I believe. Is that where you're from?

Oh my, no! I wish. At least, I wish I could spend some part of the winter there. I'm in Ontario, but I was wondering if you were on the "Aurora belt", the band of latitude that tends to witness the very best Northern Lights shows. The best Aurora I've ever seen was in Kluane.

Ahh. I've driven through Whitehorsw a few times, it's beautiful. No not quite, I would have a lot more pictures if I were! But you can see them in Homer if you keep an eye out. I saw them in Fairbanks once and they were directly above me! All sorts of colors.

There are websites that will give you a heads-up when there's a geomagnetic storm on the loose. :)

Yeah! Not always accurate though. I like to use http://www.gi.alaska.edu/AuroraForecast from UAF

A Big "Like" for these ones !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77