Retirement - aka... "Golden Years." Will You Get There? There Are No Secrets!

in #live6 years ago (edited)

Golden Years.jpg

How I Got Here.

It was after spending over 13 years fully engaged in the business of marketing and selling real estate that I made the difficult decision to retire... for the second time. Well, my first go-round was really an implied semantic of a retirement but nonetheless, at that point in time I still needed to continue working to survive.

My goal was always to make it to a comfortable financial position for our Golden Years (and I'm not referring to the David Bowie song). My first 20 working years were easy; a secure government job in the field of Meteorology and Oceanography that provided me a steady paycheck, benefits, and travel. Looking back, I could have done that for another 20 years (while standing on my head). The 20 years that followed were definitely more challenging as I worked and worried my way through the not-so-secure private sector in Tupelo, Mississippi (where Elvis still resides!). I like to say that between the two careers, there were some tumultuous times as I tested out a few gigs (jobs) before settling into real estate. During the shorter yet fulfilling second career in real estate, I learned a lot, busted my ass, and enjoyed the gains and benefits that came with that profession. We enjoyed some really good times until we, like many others, had to gallantly navigate through troubled waters during the Great Recession (2008-?? ). Some still claim that today, things are just not the same.

It Was Time.

After some up and down years in the real estate biz, I was forced into making a cognitive decision; To step down from the workforce and retire early. This time around, the retirement goal was to pack up and move on from where we dropped anchor some 18+ years earlier. After making the decision to retire, a retrospective look back seen me grow from an entry-levelreal estate rookie-agent, up through owner and managing broker of my own national real estate franchise. I can truely say the real highlights during those busy years were helping people achieve their dream of home ownership. There was nothing more enjoyable than handing over to the buyers, keys to their first home and being witness to the look of joy and excitement and relief on their faces. Besides the warm feelings and a complete sense of accomplishment which I experienced, nothing was ever more rewarding to me...aside from what lay ahead.

Sunrise at Tomaligues.jpg

Sunrise at our beach.

A New Mantra!

Much like the anxieties associated with finding and purchasing a first home, that same level of anxiety can exist when the idea of retirement finally approaches. For generations of Americans, retirement has always been considered the final installment in the Great American Dream payout. However, the aftermath of the recent "Great Recession" and the country's lethargic economic situation (leading into 2012) had forced many people's retirement plans to be left on the drawing table. The notion of enjoying a full retirement for many remained just that - a notion. And even today for some, aside from all its ambiguity, it has completely dropped off of the radar altogether. (2016 - Recent research suggests that more people are leaving the U.S. and other western counties for more comfortable retirements in other havens - Mexico and the Philippines being the two top locations for expatriation.)

Henry Ford Had It Right.

I can say one thing for certain - if you think you can't afford to retire, then you will never retire! Negative thoughts like this are the same ones we were taught as real estate agents to combat against. Successful sales agents (not just real estate) have been trained to the point where negative thoughts no longer occupy space in the mindset! But to those people who can't seem to shake that negativity about their retirement years, know this - there are viable retirement alternatives available and it just requires practicing the concept of "out-of-the-box" thinking. What it all comes down to is wants and needs... and desire!

Henry Ford once said "Whether you think you can, or you think you can't -- you're right." This is where I have been helping others achieve their dream. From motivation to planning, I have helped to inspire and guide many expatriations. My Blog covers most of the realties associated with the challenges of moving away from and completely out of one's comfort zone... at least to the Philippines - and that is a big move! Nothing in my blog is sugar-coated.

Tomaligues Samar Philippines.jpg

Retired in the Philippines - Overlooking our village and the Samar Sea.

How You Get there!

Leaving your country of origin can be an intimidating process, and with the right mindset (negatives removed), it is much easier than you think. It takes knowledge, confidence, and some proper financial planning. All combined, it goes a long way towards accomplishing your retirement objectives. Whether you decide to stay where you are or move abroad, remember, paradise is where you decide it is. And it does exist!

There are several good articles on Steemit that cover many of these topics... from anarchal views of government, to searching for a more utopian society. Realize that sometimes one must leave their comfort zone in order to discover true relaxation and happiness. Like me, growing up in the western world, many people take many things for granted, and it is not until they explore other worlds that they realize they are not as free as they thought. Freedom and liberties are more than a perception, they are real. I was fortunate that I was able to travel in my younger years, leading to discovery and self-realization.

Here is wishing you all the best for the future. Learning to take the first steps towards a more relaxed and stress-free lifestyle, is just the beginning. I hope this post not only inspires you to take an inward look at yourself and your dreams, but motivates you to look way beyond the visible horizon of life. Maybe it is time for a reality check... to begin your search for your paradise. It is always important to understand (and never too late to learn) old-fashioned "goal setting" techniques, because no great achievements in life are ever immediate, they take time through proper planning and continued execution. In nautical terms, charting a heading and staying on course is the only way to reach your chosen paradise (wherever that may be) and the fulfillment of your dreams and ultimate happiness during those elusive Golden Years.

Hammock on beach.jpg

This was my dream... and I'm there!

Do I have regrets? Of course I do. Everyone will! But if only Steemit and cryptocurrencies existed years ago... I would have reached my destination much sooner! All you Millenials have the advantage now, so don't blow it!

Check out one of my favorite sites: International Living, where you can learn to live better for less! (But don't forget to show me some Love first!)

Blue wave ruler with minnow.png

Retired in Samar 1.gif

Sort:  

Beep! Beep! This humvee will be patrolling by and assisting new veterans, retirees, and military members here on Steem. @shadow3scalpel will help by upvoting posts from a list of members maintained by @chairborne and responding to any questions replied to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98