You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A consideration (from an old post of my literary blog) about Albert Camus' "The Fall" - ENG-ITA

in #literature6 years ago

I have always read it as one of the best descriptions of a sociopath ever; even his reaction to his mother's death on, I think, the first page pointed me in that direction. So not necessarily a hypocrite as I usually use the word (immoral), but more like a sociopath (amoral) acting and functioning relatively well in society until circumstances went beyond his ability to keep up the front necessary for said functioning.

Sort:  

You are talking about the main character of "The Stranger", I think. Not the one of "The Fall".

Ah, sorry, my bad. That's rightful punishment for not having read either The Fall or The Stranger for thirty years. Must pick them up again soon.

but I think you are right about The Stranger. Meursault is a man with no hope or value - but no utopy too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11