Playing around with terraform

in #linux6 years ago (edited)

I've been wanting to setup Kubernetes on EC2. I find the idea of setting it up manually to be a terrible idea since it won't be very clever not to automate it. I guess you could set it up initially manually and then based on your setup you could use that to automate it. The point is that you should set it up at some point. Why would I like to setup Kubernetes? That is a post for another day, but I've been playing around with ECS and it works really great, I just feel that ECS is a bid of vendor Lock in since you will be bound to using AWS. Here is an amazing discussion (in the comments of this reddit post where people are talking about ECS vs Kubernetes) I found on reddit: https://old.reddit.com/r/aws/comments/96atfg/amazon_ecs_now_supports_docker_volumes_and_volume/

I like the idea of multicloud (or no cloud at all actually) , but the idea of using multiple cloud providers is a great idea since we know that cloud providers can also make mistakes. What are examples of such type of mistakes?

Back to the topic, which happens to be I'm playing with terraform.
This is how far I got:

$ brew install terraform

I then tried to run terraform plan on this bit of code(which does nothing but point it to the creds on my machine:

provider "aws" {
  region                  = "us-west-1"
  shared_credentials_file = "/Users/netscape101/.aws/credentials"
  profile                 = "me-me-me"
}

When I did run:

$ terraform plan 

I got some error message which told me to run:

$ terraform init

Next up I decided that I wanted to get a nice setup for VSCode so I decided to look for plugins for VSCode for Terraform:
image.png

That is pretty much how far I got tonight. I am glancing over the Terraform book tonight a bit which you can download parts of for free.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87