Thrift Store Finds: Vintage Brass Desk Lamp

in #lifestyle6 years ago

I found this really cool piano/desk lamp yesterday at one of my local thrift stores, they had $3.49 on it, and I really like it, so I snatched it up.


lamp3.jpg
Photo by Scott Rogers


I brought it home along with a couple of awesome books I got there for .25 cents each, wiped off the dust and plugged it in. The switch was already on so it came on immediately, both bulbs shining brightly!
The amount I paid for the light is less than how much two bulbs for it would cost, but ‘twas my lucky day and the old bulbs worked.


lamp2.jpg
Photo by Scott Rogers


There is no manufacturer’s label or any marking anywhere on it that I can find other than “Heyco” on the little connector (grommet) for the cord on the base. Heyco is a lighting component company that made the grommet, they don’t make lights. I peeked under the felt on the base bottom and no markings there either. There is only a sticker on the metal bulb socket cover that says “60 Watt Max”.
Therefore, I have no idea who made this light, all I know is it is cool, I like it, and it only cost me 3.50! I found similar used ones on E bay for around 30 to 40 dollars, and new ones on Amazon for much more.


lamp4.jpg
Photo by Scott Rogers


This is a perfect example of why I absolutely love thrift stores, flea markets, yard sales, garage sales, estate sales, antique stores, even Craigslist and some local Facebook buy/sell/trade pages…I always find a great deal on something I like, something I need, or something that another person I know could use.


lamp5.jpg
Photo by Scott Rogers


The two books I got for .25 cents each, were easily 25 dollar+ books when new. One was probably closer to fifty.


I can’t wait for spring when it warms up and everyone starts having yard sales!
I will continue to share my interesting “picks” here, hopefully there are a few out there who share my thrifting addiction!


“One man’s trash is another man’s treasure”.


Thanks very much for reading!


lovesteem.jpg

Sort:  

Nice find "I bet it brightened up your day"💡

Ha-Ha yes it did! "It was a bright, bright desklampy day!" lol!

Nice lamp! It looks quite well made. People are loving old style lamps like this - great find!

Thanks, it's definitely a keeper...looks great on my desk! I was amazed at what some of these lamps cost new...they are quite expensive. That makes this find that much sweeter!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66274.97
ETH 3175.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06