The ugly truth about my 2018 lifestylesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #lifestyle5 years ago

Hello, lovely steemians!

It is that time of a year when we reflect on everything that happened or didn’t happen and all that we’ve done or haven’t done, evaluate our successes and failures and decide where to go from here. To think about how we set our goals for 2019.


pen.jpg
...thinking about new goals...

A couple weeks ago, I wrote an article My 2018: Achievements and failures to participate in the contest mentioned there. What I wrote in the article is still true. I consider this past year to be generally successful. I visited 3 new places (at the time of writing the previous article it was only 2), I started my steemit blog and I published 2 books!


books.jpg
...my precious...

However, my lifestyle has been kind of a mess. At the beginning of 2018, I set up some fitness goals that I’d like to achieve this year, but I didn’t manage to get there, because I kept working at my day job too much and that didn’t leave me with enough energy to exercise, and enough time to properly plan my meals and to cook at home. I always worked over 40 hours per week (record was 49), which does not seem much and I know that many of you steemians work (or have worked in past) way more than that, but as a barista, working 40 hours means being on my feet 40 hours and for me, that’s physically really exhausting. On top of that I worked on creating my books and designs for my redbubble shop, but I don’t count it as working, because it does not bring me guaranteed pay.

After a year of this lifestyle I am exhausted. I cannot regret working so much last year, because it helped me reach my savings goals (I know that they weren’t as high as someones who has different kind of job, but for a barista pay it was quite audacious), but it’s not something I want to do in 2019 (or ever again).

I decided to work less in 2019 (still full time, but I’m not going to seek to work extra shifts), so I can focus on my health and lifestyle, and have enough energy to cook for myself (to save money, since my income is going to be lower, but also to eat healthier) and to workout regularly.


soup.jpg
...I would like to cook meals a bit healthier than this...

I also want to focus more on promoting my books, in hopes to supplement the income that I am going to lose by working less, by a passive one. I hope it’s going to work out. We’ll see at the end of 2019.

What about you? Is there anything you would like to change in your current lifestyle?


3_ladybugs-01_small.png


Buy my picture book here
Buy my coloring book here
Follow me on instagram
Visit my redbubble shop
Visit my tee public store

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 65139.82
ETH 3206.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16