My first pc build journey - #1

in #life7 years ago

Good morning Steemians!

I'm finally in a position to do something i've always wanted - build my own gaming pc ^_^

After running a Q6600, 3GB DDR2 ram, GTS 8600 and 500GB harddrive for the last 8 or so years, I can't wait for it to be completed!

So far I have 2 components!!!
A lovely lady who goes by the name Phanteks p400 tempered glass (white) snd a cooler master v650 psu. Here they are, what a lovely match:

IMG_1201.JPG

IMG_1203.JPG

IMG_1204.JPG

IMG_1205.JPG

I have a Samsung 850 Evo 250GB SSD and a Gigabyte wifi/bluetooth adapter arriving tomorrow!

I've also put a Ryzen 1600, Gigabyte AB350 Gaming 3 and 2666mhz HyperX Fury ram on layby - hope to pay these over the next few months.

It'll be long process, but should be a nice birthday present to myself in December once it's all complete!

More updates to come as more parts roll in and the excitement grows.

Take care Steemians!

Sort:  

#1: Make sure the fans do not have lights on them if the computer is in your bedroom, or they will keep you up at night.
#2: Take out a personal loan and maximize the RAM to its' highest level.
#3: There are never enough USB ports. Make sure they are all USB3, or put the USB2 at the back of the machine and all the USB3s at the front.

So...Win10 or Ubuntu Linux?

Thank you for the great advice @jhpace1!!!

The mobo has RGB lighting but it'll be in a computer room so I should be ok - except for when i'm in the dogbox with the wife :p

I wish I could get faster ram as I see Ryzen has the need for speed, but here in New Zealand and on my budget (with a bad credit rating due to being a stupid kid) this is the best I could get. Maybe i'll be lucky and get it to OC up to 2993mhz with looser timings (I have no idea what this means but have seen a lot of comments about it - can't wait to learn!).

Also, i'll be going for Windows 10.
I plan to use my old pc to learn the ins and outs of linux and see where I end up from there.

I found Windows10 to be advantageous for networking to other home-system computers, PC games, MP3 playing and recording at the same time, nonlinear video editing, etc. This was several years ago, so Linux (I used Ubuntu) may have overcome these challenges.

Linux was better for Web browsing (Firefox), e-mail (your choice), and some computer programming. I never learned vi (go emacs!), so Linux didn't impress me as much as I remembered from college. I actually found it harder to multitask with Linux, due to a lack of programs (and drivers?). The inability to play online MMORGs with Linux compared to Windows was the deal-breaker.

I tried dual-booting for a while, but eventually went back to just Windows.

From what i've been reading it seems like it's come a long way but still has issues. I'd say i'll end up in the same boat as you on that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59117.01
ETH 2525.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48