Fat-Culture on the barbie: 1/xsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life5 years ago (edited)

So I found something useful on Wastebook this morning (a pleasant surprise!) and I felt it would be good to share here.

Alot of people seem to overblow the concept of fitness. They act like it's some pie-in-the-sky pursuit that can't be accomplished without a huge investment of resources, and that's simply not true. At all. I was able to maintain a very healthy diet on $100 a month, including the spare burger or fish dinner, here and there. In my case, the answer was Beans, Greens, and Eggs. All of these are extremely cheap foods, and they work like gang-busters. It borders on veganism, even. Which pleases Mama Evie to no end, cause she's the sensitive-sort. <3

bbq.jpeg

No bueno. (mouth watering)

I've never been a fan of 'body-positivity', which in my mind, is an urbane word for an extremely destructive thing, which in real truth is named Fat Culture. Everything about this is wrong. It couches eating-disorders as some form of "Empowerment", which is borderline criminal, if you ask me. There is a reason why "Anorexia Empowerment" pages are scourged from the internet, because it enables a horrifying disease. And so does Fat Culture. The social mechanisms are even the same; Anorexics posted Pro-Ana encouragement, and the obese posting Pro-Obesity encouragement. I understand that people with an disease want to support each other, but they enabling themselves to get ever more ill.

And it's unethical...

The reason I say it's unethical is because Food Insecurity affects 12% of the US population, particularly among the elderly, the mentally-ill and children. So when I see somebody stuffing themselves like a pig, it really irks me. I've been to a place that would probably drive many Americans to crime. All for an addiction to Mass-produced Chemically-Engineered Food-like structures.

tacobell.jpeg

I spent more than a year in starvation-mode. Not on purpose, but because even while working 40 hours a week, I spent my money so poorly on trash-food and addictions that when I had to flee an abuser, I literally had nothing left for food. I had all the help in the world convincing me that my addictions were just "good consumer spending"...

Keep in mind, I once weighed 300lbs, and gladly accepted every excuse in the world for it. I had 'bad joints', the gym was too expensive, I would look silly, and all it ever did was compound my misery.

And it was my fault, because I didn't want to change my standard American diet. I did it to myself, until I learned the healthiest foods in the world are dirt-cheap. When I was desperately avoiding homelessness, I eventually had to eat what cast-off food I could find in trashcans or leftover on somebodies plate. I was down to 160lbs last summer, and my step-mother even asked if I was bulemic. I started getting scared and then made a point of eating more, dignity-be-damned. So I started hitting dumpsters and slowly got better. I've been out of work for 6 months now, due to a back-injury, and I'm up to a nice, plump 220lbs. I have no intention of returning to the misery of my former life, though, so I'm walking 5+ miles a day to the Senior Center (dirt cheap, fully functional and the stories are Awesome!)

gymretirees.jpeg

These are my people. <3

I'm gonna have to continue this in a second post, cause my father just invited me to lunch at the local Mom & Pop joint in town. Damn good eating. :)

Grace to the Gracious,

Silas Danois

natmedicine.gif

Sort:  

FYI: When you do a search for "fit granny" with safe-search off, you're going to find some unexpected videos. Try "gym retirees" instead. Though I gotta confess...

baby still got it xD

Curated for #informationwar (by @wakeupnd)

Ways you can help the @informationwar!

  • Upvote this comment or Delegate Steem Power. 25 SP 50 SP 100 SP or Join the curation trail here.
  • Tutorials on all ways to support us and useful resources here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66772.03
ETH 3237.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25