Toad Hall Weather and Pipe Report - End of Winter Blizzard

in #life6 years ago

After a long silence (never gone three days without posting before!) I'm here with an update on my loyal trees!


Blizzard1.jpg

Long-time readers may remember them from previous Toad Hall Weather Reports. And perceptive viewers may note that the ragged cedar on the right, long suffering from a case of the splits, has lost a significant chunk of vegetation to one of this winter's many storms. I'm just grateful it blew down towards the beach, and didn't assault our windows.

Here's a before picture, from our early winter deep freeze. (Man, we really have had a buffet of shitty weather this year, haven't we?)

So here we are, just a week away from "Spring," and we're getting hammered by the largest snowfall we've seen this season. Well over a fut is predicted. High winds too. Likely we'll lose power again, and since the generator disintegrated after its last 48-hour marathon (I took it apart to look more closely and there are shards and shavings of metal everywhere.) we'll likely wind up quite cold after a while. But maybe we'll get lucky.

Not only that, but we're back into sub-zero weather the week following, with another significant storm predicted for Tuesday - the first day of spring.

BlizzardPan.jpg

But it's not all bitchin' and moanin' here at Toad Hall.

Gratitude is important. And I've got a long list at the moment.

The new job remains an amazing place to work.

Relaxed, respectful, irreverent, appreciative - and I don't have to go outside for smoke breaks!

Because they put the safety of their staff over profits, they gave me the day off today. I volunteered to stay in a hotel nearby in case they needed me, but was told, "Don't be an idiot. We're not paying for a hotel. So stay safe."

The guy who lives upstairs will decide whether to open up, and Poe can fill in if things get rowdy.

SnowPoeStore.jpg

The Wife finally sorted out the 2nd car dilemma.

It took three weeks. But she tracked down a high mileage yet reliable (according to our independent mechanic) Volvo SUV Cross Country something-or-other. Perfect for this weather. Perfect for her construction and farming projects. So no more dropping me off at the bus stop train station when she's got things to do during the day.

I'm learning a bit of basic pipe restoration.

This is something I've wanted to try for decades. Now I'm at a shop that has a work-bench in the basement. And this place has a lot of materials down here - we're talking thousands of blocks, unfinished bowls, stems, ect. So there's really nothing to stop me learning a bit of pipe making while I'm here, as well.

PetersonRestore.jpg

Really should have taken a before picture. But this is a 2001 Peterson St. Patrick's Day pipe, and one of my heavier-smoked pacifiers. So it was pretty crusty. Take my word for it.

The town is actually plowing our road as the snow falls!

So if we do lose power, we won't be trapped here.

Sorry for my long absence from Steemit, folks.

Three days without a post really feels like an age. But I've finally gone and ordered a new cell phone, which I'm hoping will allow me to do some more reliable posting from the commuter trail train. (The MBTA's Wifi really is worth than nothing.) I'll probably take @dayleeo advice and get a Bluetooth keyboard for it as well, and just ditch the laptop entirely.

How have you all been? Are you looking forward to Spring?

Sort:  

Yay stoked you’re investing in making the setup a little more “mobile”, Being able to ditch the lappy is so nice.

Also please stay safe! Hope you and the lady aren’t too cold :( will be checking in on both of your posts (if you have power and are posting that is...)

💕

Just read about a nor'easter pounding New England and thought of you, low and behold you were posting simultaneously. Have a lovely day off, nothing better then a cozy day at home to refresh the old spirit, and enjoy a refreshing spirit.

I really wish it were cozy! Without a working fireplace things are getting nippy. I'd bundle up for the night but my lady is getting cantankerous so we are plotting our escape.

Safe travels, hope Monty and the chicks are okay in this cold. Probably best to heed Donna's sentiment and head for the heaters😄

I know what you mean, went two days last week and I got the shakes. 3 days that is more than I could do.😂. Oh Steemit, you are my crack.

Well the weather has been pretty shifty here too, last couple days so hot.

Thanks, HR! I've never been anyone's crack before!

Well the power is out again so it may be a while. If we can drive safely tonight, we may head to my sister's place.

Steemit is my crack, is how I tried to write that. Your like a fine wine to be enjoyed not crack really.

Oooooh my goodness...I can't believe we haven't gotten that snow here yet...we may lose power as well, the winds are supposed to reach over 100 km/h. Missed you on your break, hopefully your power stays on!!!!!!

Pipe restoration would be a kick. I'm sure you will get into that more heavily. Nice having a place to do it.
As for the shat weather, hope it improves soon. I busted a gut on the "Don't be an idiot. We're not paying for a hotel. So stay safe." I can just hear it now...but a good idea anyways.
Looking forward to some posting from the phone too. Nice to be able to do it on the train. Save a lot of time, that's for sure. Stay warm and safe, and don't stand under any trees. Yikes.

That weather really sucks!

Ugh. We've got another one coming Wednesday. And #5 over the weekend.

This is not normal.

No, but normal has definitely changed the last few years.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78