You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: New Puppy vs Rescuing a Shelter Dog? Easy Answer...

in #life6 years ago

I just love this post. I have had several foster dogs years ago and have adopted shelter dogs for years. I have had my chiweenie for almost 11 years from a shelter. He is just a little guy but is my hiking partner. He can easily do 16 miles with me. He makes a great sleeping bag warmer as well! If you aren't in a position to adopt or foster you can even find local groups that need youth come and walk or socialize a pup. If you love the outdoors or hiking and backpacking try contacting a local rescue or shelter and see if they have any dogs that have energy to burn. They may even know of people who don't want to give up a pup but cant currently walk or play with it do to illness or injury. One of the biggest reasons I see people give up their dogs is because they "don't have the time" or the dog "needs more exercise then we can give it" What a great way to get exercise and help an animal! GREAT POST. Thanks for putting this info out there!

Sort:  

Wow this is an awesome reply, thank you! Yes, I hadn't thought of those options, you are absolutely right! One of the charities I volunteer for lets me go and take one dog out at a time for a good walk so that it cuts down on paying the dog walkers to exercise them. Volunteering is a great way to enjoy the companion of a dog if you can't adopt one into your home! Great advice! Following you now :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73