Iterations

in #life6 years ago

When I was little, I discovered something profound.

Resized_hal-gatewood-405338-unsplash.jpeg
Source

Atoms look like solar systems.

We barely understand the atom, and we hardly understand our solar system. It's logical, then, to wonder: if our galaxy was an atom in some massive creature, what is that creature to us? If my own cells contain atoms orbited by tiny inhabitable planets, then what am I to them?

I would be like their God.

nasa-53884-unsplash.jpeg
Source

And if my own existence and everything I know on this Earth inhabits a particle of a cell of some great cosmic entity, then what am I to that great being?

Not insignificant, actually.

Now, before I completely lose the biologists and physicists among you, I am aware that the similarities I see between micro and macro aren't exact, that I'm not the first person to think of this, and that there aren't civilizations of tiny people living on my electrons.

But I didn't know any of this at age 10, and what I did know is the kind of truth I've heard described as hyper-reality - meaning it works in the real world, even if the details aren't objectively true.

Resized_nasa-89125-unsplash.jpeg
Source

As the conscious life force that animates my cells, I have tremendous power over them - even though I am scarcely aware of their individual struggles. Decisions that I make affect them greatly - I scratch my back and several living cells are wiped out; I drink too many beers and suffer the demise of hundreds, or thousands.

ov0glij6ukkx7j86cmas.jpg
From the best Futurama episode ever

Speaking of decisions that affect the thousands of tiny entities that make up my own body, did you know we had a hardfork? It smashed a lot of us flat. And that's all I have to say about that. (Thank you @tarazkp)

So the profound thing, to me, is not the idea that there may be a greater power making decisions that affect me.

It's that the actions of the smallest entities matter just as much.

Let's say my cells have a sentience of their own. For all I know, they do. After all, they do have autonomy and their own drive to survive. Without needing to be aware of me, they act in my best interest - in the interest of the greater good - even at times sacrificing their own needs.

Every action of these cells, every protein created and every waste product produced, becomes part of who I am. There is no part of me that isn't produced by these tiny iterations of life. In both the literal and figurative sense, each living cell matters. Without them, I don't exist.

Life is Iterative


There are so many implications of this, it could be a series of much longer posts. Health implications. Spiritual implications. Implications for the future of the Steem ecosystem (thanks @davemccoy).

I think for today I'll leave it there. I'm anxious to find out if I'll actually be able to post. Here goes!

Sort:  

You did it! Good job and happy to see your post went out :)

Thanks! It took me from about 80% to 75% RCs. Not bad since I only post about one a week most weeks.

Hi @wholeself-in!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 1.941 which ranks you at #25449 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 726 contributions, your post is ranked at #440.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Heck of an observeration for a 10 year old!

I think my favorite “alternative reality” theory (besides the one that says we’re living in a simulation, because that one’s statistically true 😅) is that our brains are antennas capturing and sending messages far across space and time to our conscious selves. That’s why scientists have such a hard time wrapping their heads around the brain (no pun intended).

Lol @ wrapping our heads around the brain.
How about the idea that our conscious selves are each part of a gigantic "brain"? I mean if my brain has billions of neurons, why not...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63706.21
ETH 3073.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76