Becoming a storyteller...

in #life5 years ago

When I started writing fiction, my goal was pretty simple. I wanted to share my philosophies, ideas and experiences in a way that was softer and more creative than stating them directly.

I had thought about writing philosophy, but I do not relish the debate that comes when two left hemispheres clash. I thought about writing self help but that didn't satisfy my creative side very much. So fiction seemed like the best way for me to share ideas.

Something changed though, when I started joining the 50 word writing contests and 5 minute freewrites at steemit. It was the first time I had wrote anything without a particular message. I felt what I had only gotten a glimpse of before, that characters like to write themselves. Settings like to shape themselves to fit the story that also constructs itself if you stand out of the way.

When I was focused only on sharing a message, I didn't give the settings and characters the room they needed to grow. Now I see how important this is. I'm sure that under certain circumstances, my work could probably attract a fair amount of readers and even praise, but I want to create work that is truly epic, not necessarily in it's length, but in depth.

True storytellers will create world's that come alive and characters that might as well exist in the same world we inhabit. They let us glimpse into parallel realities that they have tapped into .

So here's to graduating, from a writer to a storyteller.

You can find my work at I+Everything

received_1373874456083033.jpeg

Sort:  

Ahh welcome to being a conduit for other dimensions, it’s crazy but fun 😆

Posted using Partiko iOS

Crazy work but someone has to do it it, right?

Congratz with your graduation! It's a much deserved one!

Interesting to see that you sound like a philosopher again here though. I guess sometimes we're writing and sometimes we're just philosophizing about writing.

I lost my writing mojo / momentum for a bit but I don't mind and am not gonna force anything. My house is getting nicer and nicer, Spring is in the air, I meditated 83 consecutive days and life is good to me.

I'm looking forward to our upcoming talk, my friend :>)

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hi @whatamidoing!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.008 which ranks you at #1110 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 254 contributions, your post is ranked at #101.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Highly rEsteemed!

Screen Shot 2019-02-14 at 8.55.14 AM.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63006.70
ETH 3075.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82