Hey I'm Now Important Enough To Flag :psteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

And here I was starting to feel left out :p. Just got my first flags from the experiment so I think I am doing something right... or very wrong. Either way. I didn't see how much the post would have made without the flag, I am kind of curious but probably better that I don't know. To any users who don't know what the experiment is, it is a way to balance out the rewards so when big accounts with a lot of voting power give people too much of the daily pool it gets taken away and put back in the pool. Everyday we have a reward pool that gets split between users and the more SP you have the more voting power you have to determine who gets what. It works but has been unbalanced so they are working on it. It leads to people getting flagged. At least I think that is what happened here, if not, let me know. And to any new users who get flagged, don't take it personally. It just means you are too awesome.

Here is the post that got flagged:

https://steemit.com/art/@whatageek/alien-hourglass-art-design

This photo is from pixabay. It fits as I am Canadian and I like to think I have an army of seagulls that will protect me from people who try to flag me. I should probably pick a different animal.

Have you got flagged? Tell me your story in the comments.

Now go seagulls... attack.

@whatageek

*my upvotes/rep disclaimer: https://steemit.com/steemit/@whatageek/my-steemit-account-where-i-stand-on-bots-self-votes-and-multiple-account

Sort:  

(edited) I'm very new here on steemit, does flagging make you lose everything for the post, and does it hurt your reputation? or just a chunk of it? It't a bit scary if you lose reputation from it, makes you hesitate to share stuffs :(

Hey @gamemusic. Please don't feel worried or defensive, it is just a tool to balance the system. The amount you lose depends on the amount of SP the person who flags you has. My post that got flagged is still in the positive. And once you build enough rep, you can lose a bit and it will be fine. This is a positive community :).

thanks for the reply whatgeek :) I'm trying to figure out how tings works here :D and what I have seen so far, the community here seems very possitive, I like that a lot! : )

Glad to hear it. Yeah they are still working on a system that works for everyone. It is hard because you don't want to give the people at the top too much power but at the same time they are investing their own money into the system so they deserve perks. They will find a balance.

I see the problem, even if you want to do good, when you got a lot of power, one error can do a lot of dammage for the small guys. And its only a matter of time before you do something wrong if you are active. I guess :)

True, we all make mistakes. Personally I think a system where the small guy has more power will lead to more users but I get the argument that is dissuades new investors and can lead to people making lots of accounts. But you are here at a good time, you can start to build a solid account.

Thanks for the help whatgeek, I'm glad to hear that I started at the right time, usually I'm late on all the fun and good stuffs :) I think I will be here for a long time even if the road gets bumpy :D

Big deal, I got kick around so much at one point I was a -8 reputation for posting stuff like this:

Aaah! So is that what the dots next to a flag mean? How many times it's been flagged?

No, stick with the seagulls, if you try to get too close to them you'll definitely get crapped on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05