YOUTUBE PARTNERSHIP PROGRAM TERMINATION NOTICE AND WHAT IT MEANS TO ME.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Thanks to @yesaye for creating this thumbnail for me.


It was 17 Jan, 2018 and I was on a flight to the capital of India. I had completed my studies and decided to move because of the obvious fact that New Delhi has a lot more opportunities compared to my hometown and also my family lives there. 


Just as I boarded my flight and sat on my seat, I received an email from YouTube. I was happy to see the mail thinking it must be some offer or opportunity from YouTube. Whenever I had received an email from YouTube in the past, it had been good news.

I took a deep breath and looked at the email. 


It read:

Under the new eligibility requirements announced today, your YouTube  channel, WandererOnWheels, is no longer eligible for monetization  because it doesn’t meet the new threshold of 4,000 hours of watchtime  within the past 12 months and 1,000 subscribers. As a result, your channel will lose access to all monetization tools and features  associated with the YouTube Partner Program on February 20, 2018  unless you surpass this threshold in the next 30 days. Accordingly,  this email serves as 30 days notice that your YouTube Partner Program  terms are terminated.                                      

I have been in a dilemma ever since I discovered @dtube over whether to upload my films and travel videos on YouTube or DTube. 

I did try DTube once during the initial days. It was full of bugs so I arrived at a conclusion that it wasn't yet fully developed enough to upload and stream videos seemlessly. I even suggested a few tips to @heimindanger over ways to improve DTube. Then I forgot about it and stuck to YouTube. 

@heimindanger has been working positively on all the feed backs he's been getting and now the platform seems to be in a stable position to be able to stream without any issues. It has also got SP delegation to help in mass adoption. 

At this hour when DTube has been at full swing, such a move by YouTube comes as a huge advantage for DTube and also us YouTubers. 

How it is advantageous for YouTubers you ask?

I have had my account on YouTube since Dec 2015 and have uploaded about 30 videos earning me around 1.2k subscribers. Yes, I've been quite irregular with my uploads else I would've earned a lot more subs. 

But, the amount of money I have earned on YouTube in 2 years can be possibly earned on DTube on a single video provided we put in enough efforts and the video gets recognized by @dtube account. 

YouTube partnership program is pretty useless when it comes to earning so it actually doesn't make any difference to me if they terminate my partnership. (It's not like they're stopping me from uploading videos.)

However, I would still be uploading videos on YouTube because of the audience base I've built there. Simultaneously, I'll be uploading them on DTube and slowly draw my audience from YouTube to DTube. 

This way I will have my audience with me, I will also be earning well, DTube will also benefit by having more signups of users who follow me on YouTube. It is a win-win situation for everyone. 

This move by YouTube is pretty advantageous to all of us on Steemit. 

I would like to hear your thoughts on this. 

Arrived in Delhi Airport with my editing PC. 

Cheers!

Would you like to check out my other articles? They might be of interest to you:

Follow me @wandereronwheels
Sort:  

great feedback, if the small youtuber think like you , and youtube do the same with all small youtubers lot of many people go on dtube!!
@dtube with great community , and devteam make really good job!! goodnews for all steemers

Yeah! There would be so many YouTubers whose monetization will be cancelled after Feb 20th unless they upload shitloads of videos and get 4000 hours of watchtime. This will create ideal situation for migration.

I got that same email :)

That's like universe giving us a signal to move on to DTube! :D

In fact we're early! xD
See you on the other side :P

I am not the video making kind of girl but yes ....see you at the moon!

Awesome news! i've been thinking to get my feet into making videos and the recent improvement on dtube is a push for me to jump all in.

Youtube is shooting itself in the foot here unknowingly because small time youtubers are moving to dtube which has a better incentive model as well as a blue ocean.

Maybe just let youtube shove it and go on mking videos on dtube.

Since Dtube is still in baby stages, this would be the perfect time to jump into this little sea. We would be one of the old timers on Dtube after several years. :D
Let's see how this works out for us!

That dtube thing got me thinking...Will try...

That's great man. Do upload your videos on dtube. Since you already have quite a good number of followers or fan base here in steemit you can deifinitely upload your videos on dtube and earn good amount of money. Definitely much higher than youtube. But it'll take some time for motorcycle enthusiasts to follow you here in steemit or on dtube. Good luck to you. Cheers :)

Yeah man. Makes sense. We'll be one of the first DTubers when DTube becomes mainstream. Cool stuff right?
And I guess there are no motovloggers yet on DTube.

Yeah that's great. I guess there aren't any. Anyway i sold my motorcycle and won't be riding anytime soon. I might upload some of the old videos that are currently on my youtube channel. I wish you all the success :)

Since you have a DSLR, you could try making videos inside France about people, buildings and stuff. Wish you the same brother. :)

Congratulations! 🎉 Your Steemversay has arrived. One year ago today you made your steem account along with 177 others. You are one of 9 users who have posted in the last week. Well done you.

I've upvoted your post, I hope it helps. Happy Steemversay ✌️;

p.s I'm a new bot, I've only been alive 20 days :)
Learn more about SteemVersary and view awards at Steemversary

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28