Learning A Different Way - FLOW / Be Water

in #life6 years ago

Conventional

Going through university for a spread out amount of time, I have been exposed to the system long enough to see underlying conceptual patterns between classes, tests, and homework. The thing I want to write about today is about the way students in college learn. I believe fully, that it is not the most efficient manner. If an individual desires to learn something outside of school, there is no test to prepare for, no homework that is an obligation, and most importantly no guidelines for learning. I study 4 hours top for a test, but my average study is a solid 3 hours, with ten minute breaks every 50 minutes. This is me, utilizing the discovery of my flow state. Everybody is capable of stepping into a perceptible reality that causes them to lose track of their entire environment. Music to me, takes me deep into my body, and I don't become aware of my surroundings, hunger, or even exhaustion until I need a break.

Kids killing emselves

I believe most study routines are mundane, unnecessary, and outright irrational. The majority of students most likely study in a manner that is due to procrastination. There's nothing wrong with that when going through this schooling system, but is it possible there is a way to optimize getting by? Most students enjoy meeting up with others and "studying" together. This typically involves peers chatting about every day lives while trying to focus on complex material that they most likely do not know. I don't care if you study for a day, studying while becoming distracted is a very big setback. When a train of thought is brought to halt, it is exactly like a car. The brain halts and then must build momentum again in order to recover to the original path. This is not good, because every time a pupil looks at a text, in the middle of a problem, they're only straying from their study path. I'm not to big into studying in the first place mainly because I never study things that I truly want to learn. I don't think anybody does. School has a way of categorizing obligatory work into a specific pool of learning/ schooling. Gross.

How To Optimize?

I can only share my way to step into my flow state. Everybody is different, responds to different stimuli in different ways, and overall needs to figure it out for themselves. By me bringing it into your perspective though, it may allow you to experiment with such techniques.

A lot of girls that I have observed over the years enjoy writing out their notes, again, and then typing them, and THEN they begin to study. Hmm. This simply sounds ineffective to me. Are these individuals actually learning? Or are they simply memorizing? I used to play my guitar in the way that I had chords memorized and song lyrics. I wasn't playing music, I was copy and pasting actions into my brain essentially. So what other ways can we manage to study we ask?

Study intently. Focus is the key to picking things up quickly. Most professors, actually about all, post powerpoint notes on their online course page. This allows you to have essentially everything you need in order to know what material needs to be learned. Now what can we do with these powerpoints? I typically throw on a sound proof headset and mimic sensory deprivation by putting my hood up and listening to a consistent pitter patter of a peaceful rainfall with thunder in the background. When pupils listen to music with lyrics, or even listen to music that has sequential patterns withing their melodies and rhythms, this results in the brain having to do more computing, this is utilizing resources that could be redirected toward learning as quickly as possible along with efficiently. I only read powerpoints max 3 - 4 times. If understanding doesn't come by then, well I don't believe that it is being looked at in a way that causes conscious thinking. We're totally capable of reading words while not absorbing definitions. Our brains can become distracted due to outside stimuli that is caused by our brain trying to create solutions for outside problems, such as finances, significant others, etc. How can we counter this? I enjoy doing a solid 5 - 10 minute session of meditation before doing studying sessions in order to clear my mind of my problems and then attack what I need to focus on.

That's it man. I don't go to class, I study 2 - 5 hours probably for every test and I do well if I please. I have above a 3.0 this semester with these simple techniques, and I study Computer Science. Many will ask at what university, and I agree that is a factor. However, we're all getting the same end result, so why would I choose the more difficult path when I can create my own that is exponentially faster for me.

Pre-Conditions

Of course a subject will not be easy to learn if you don't have a solid foundation. If it is seen that projects that are being worked on don't make progress due to a misunderstanding of a more fundamental concept, then this is a sign that a pupil needs to backtrack in order to have a solid understanding of this material.

Get the fuck out their - Be water, and FLOW

Go be the best you can be, for you

Comment below with thoughts, or even your experiences with learning to study better
Upvote with love,
RESTEEM - that's nice, I like that

Only follow me if this content is something that you enjoy reading
I hope to instill a type of curiosity and inquisitive thought process into my readers' minds

Don't stop steeming

Sort:  

Hi, I just resteemed your post to over 33,800 followers. @a-0-0

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61618.64
ETH 3009.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78