You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How DO I Tell What is Real & What is *just* Hormones?

in #life6 years ago

I am diagnosed as Bi-polar with low grade OCD and acquired PTSD later on. There are a ton of things that affect my mood but only fewI can control myself. One of the things is my diet, there is scientific proof that blood sugar levels influence mental illness and that fluctuating levels can trigger episodes. Sleep is a factor that can influence as well but it not always something one can control . It is imperative to keep blood levels consistent and avoid spikes this means that you need to make sure you know what you are eating and how it reacts with your body. You need to eat several small meals a day consistently and avoid over eating or not eating enough. For me my episodes slashed them self in half when I went from vegetarian to vegan. And I have heard from other vegans that going vegan helped them substantially as well (but there is no scientific data to back this part). Not sleeping does not help either. As for not knowing what is real, it all is. You just are more sensitive at times so it hits harder but it does not make those emotions fake they are just amplified.

Sort:  

I actually feel best when I go low carb and eat more meat/protein. I find it fascinating how different we all are.

I know that my feelings are real... but there is definitely times when I am overreacting and my reactions are not justified. I don't want to hurt other people because I'm overreacting to things that are just amplified because of my hormonal state. It's all well and good for me to say "my feelings are REAL!" but if I'm then hurting others with my reactions, that's not okay. Especially if the next day I realize that I was absolutely overreacting to something because of the hormones coursing through my system.

outside of the ethical issues and the cancer risk meat is not the issue dairy is, it is known to screw with hormone levels and influence blood sugar negatively. So maybe go dairy free and go high protein plants and keep eating the corpse i guess?!I wish there was more help I could offer :(

Lol. Maybe so.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63904.38
ETH 2638.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83