You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dreaming of Financial Freedom

in #life6 years ago

Hang in there. I think we're all in the same boat. No one taught us how not to be in debt. Everything we're taught is get a loan for a car, get a loan for a house. You have to have credit cards to survive. With lessons like that we never stood a chance.

I turn 50 later this year and you know what? I have never owned a new vehicle. I have always been in some sort of debt, mostly medical, but have had credit card debt, I have filed bankruptcy. I was able to raise my kids to place value on different things, life, love ,relationships, to work on being better at things than I am. My daughter is excelling, granted she will have student loans, but other than that she has managed to stay debt free. My son, still finding his way. He's working on getting things paid off, but primarily, the job situation around here is pretty bad. He'll find his direction, I have no doubt about that.

So guess what...you're normal LOL. Focus on the kiddos, teach them right, so they don't struggle the way you have. Teach them to dream and not to let anything stand in their way.

Sort:  

Thank you so much (as always) for the words of encouragement and for making me feel “normal”. It’s so inspiring to hear about your journey with your own children, thanks for sharing that. It’s always lovely to hear from you! X

Likewise :) I think we're all more normal than the world tries to make us believe. We can just blame Disney for creating the fairy tales (LOL) as far as romance goes anyway. To be honest. I don't know anyone that is not in debt to some degree that it affects day to day living. Ok maybe 1 person, she has a home business and has to really work at it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86