You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Guess What I Found Metal Detecting?!

in #life7 years ago

Metal detecting hobbies have always been on my "bucket list" since I was a pre-teen living in Northern California (Fort Bragg for those wondering how far North). I was not thinking about a bucket list as a pre-teen, I was thinking about metal detectors and such (in the mid 80's they were not exactly cheap). I later added this hobby to my bucket list.

I grew up on the beaches of Northern California. Glass Beach being my favorite - before people started hauling out buckets of samples for their crafts. I can only imagine the untold "treasures" hidden just beneath the surface on those beaches.

Congrats on your find by the way. Thank you for reminding me how much I have always wanted to just get out there and wave a device over the ground for fun (I am now 40 years old - my how time flies).

Sort:  

Well that's younger than when I started! The nice thing is a decent detector is not overly expensive like they probably were in the 80's. To really get the bug, watch some metal detecting vids on YouTube. There is a big nice community of MDers there. I know a guy that does pretty good at Pismo beach in CA. His YT channel is https://www.youtube.com/user/MichaelSwan66 Of course you are welcome to follow along my channel that is in the post as well!
Thanks for stopping by and I hope you take the plunge! Its a great hobby!

Maybe some day I will be able to return to the northern beaches of California. For now though, I am living in Arkansas so if I am ever able to pick up metal detecting it may be at some of our national parks here (may be a hidden treasure trove of lost memorabilia out there).

Thank you for re-igniting that spark for me. It was one of those things that was in the back of my mind all these years but I had not been able to quite pinpoint what it was. I hope that makes sense. lol Again, great post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59032.15
ETH 2518.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46