You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Planning for the Unforeseeable: Will your crypto be unclaimed when you’re not around?

in #life7 years ago

This is a great post to get people thinking about this topic. Much crypto has been lost because it was only accessible by a single person who, for whatever reason, is no longer capable of accessing it. And while most crypto holders lean towards being young, just remember "we don't always die in alphabetical order." ;-)

Beyond the Bitcoin still held by Satoshi, and BTC that has never circulated after the Mt Gox heist, I've estimated that 3 to 6% of BTC will never be transferred again and therefore effectively lost forever... Meaning that the total supply might effectively be 20 million, rather than 21 million in the end. With the passage of years and decades, additional BTC will be lost and taken out of circulation and lost to heirs. This is a topic people just don't want to think about - until it's too late or the time has passed.

Smart contracts within Ethereum will soon be able to automate transfer of keys upon the passing of an individual and ultimately could govern transfer of keys for Bitcoin and other cryptocurrencies. In the meanwhile, we all need to develop personal accountability for our own banking and estate planning. I'm liking, resteeming, following and promoting. Hopefully you'll also enjoy my posts and reciprocate. Cheers, @thoughtchain

Sort:  

Thanks so much for your thoughtful response.. My work is all about talking about things people don't want to think about. We have to face the hard truths if we hope to be okay in case the worst happens. I look forward to reading your posts.

Thanks. I hope you appreciate the resteem and paid promotion. Truth be told, I actually spent an additional $10 Steem beyond what I intended - but you obviously benefited from it and I really think it's an important topic. Please check out my latest post today on ICOs and let me know what you think. @thoughtchain

I very much do Mate. Checking it out

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63312.28
ETH 2601.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79