My First Real Christmas Experience

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Hello dear readers,

This Holiday season has been the most wonderful for me. It came at a time when the world seemed bleak, options were meager, and heart was full of despair and fear. I will not say that Christmas came as a distraction, no, it was much more than that. It came as a solution, opened my eyes wide open towards new possibilities and planted a fearlessness in me that I will carry with me for the rest of my life.

IMG-3917.JPG

Enough with the heavy. Now, I belong to a Hindu family and so Christmas isn't something we celebrate, but, India has all kinds of religions and cultures so I kind of had an outside view of what Christmas was. Every 25th of December my mother would take me to the church (on my insistence) and there would be lit stars hanging, thousands of candles shimmering and a beautiful representation of Jesus' life through those miniatures. It was the best thing.

IMG-3923.JPG

This Christmas I celebrated in Amsterdam with @sjennon's family as a part of the family and it was one of the most heart warming experiences ever.

On Christmas eve the whole family went to a restaurant for dinner, it was the cutest thing. The dinner was paid for by @sjennon's late grandfather (R.I.P).

After the dinner that night, next morning I woke up to a heavenly breakfast. Our little immediate family Me, @sjennon, her mother, two sisters and the boyfriend of one of the sisters) sat down around a table and just like had a really nice morning. You could just feel the love and warmth around in the air. It made me miss my family back in India so bad.

IMG-3916.JPG

IMG-3914.JPG

IMG-3915.JPG

After the breakfast we opened a couple of presents ( BEST PART EVAAAA).

IMG-3920.JPG

I have to say though that the little Christmas decorations here and there really won my heart. @sjennon's mother has a real nice eye for decorating and all things aesthetically pleasing.

IMG-3919.JPG

IMG-3921.JPG

IMG-3922.JPG

On the night of 25th we went over to @sjennon's father's house for a dinner which I now wish that I had eaten some more. It was a million course eat, the food just kept coming on and on and on and everything was friggin delicious. Which is why I did not stop to make any pictures after the appetizer.

The night was filled with a lot of food, love and well, wine among other things.

After all that fun our bodies kind of died for the entirety of the next day and we slept till 6 in the evening. Yayyyy.

Just when I was getting a bit sad that there will be no more shit load of food and presents, came the awesome sauce gourmet dinner. Make your own food and eat what you like. Heights of deliciousness is what it was.

IMG-3910.JPG

IMG-3913.JPG

Many more presents were opened, many laughs and stories and high fives were exchanged. It really was a jolly good experience. I am so happy to have found a family away from home. Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year people.


Written by @things, 2017. All rights reserved.


Sort:  

I wanna experience too :')

Idhar aaja phir lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02