Musicians and Mental Illness (Letter From A Fan)

in #life6 years ago

Answering a letter from a viewer about the perceived links between musicians and mental health problems.

Let me know what you guys think about all this in the comments below. Best responses get upvotes. Love you!

Sort:  

Mental illness has played a big part in my life, whether it's my own (anxiety, depression), or someone else I'm close to. I notice the music I gravitate to most often is music made by tortured souls. I wouldn't say that mental illness equals good music. Just because you're depressed doesn't mean you can write a shit-hot guitar lick. But, I do think mental illness has fueled some of the greatest music of all time.

I'm friends with the guys from DANGERS, and when I saw them in CO Springs they played and dedicated Tarantula Type to me, as per my request. I talked to Al beforehand about mental illness and it's effects on my life, so it was fitting. After the show we went to dinner at a vegan joint called The Burrowing Owl - fantastic food.

A really important subject and I actually wrote about the subject a little while ago: http://www.jonmagnusson.se/2017/11/03/put-something-in-my-bloodstream-to-take-away-the-pain/

thanks for sharing! :-)

I think artist can help a lot breaking the stigma around mental health. Two songs on my new EP are more or less based on my own experience of mental health issues and I'm trying to talk a lot about in my upcoming vlogs.

Thanks for shedding some light on this topic! I have to admit, yes, I find it more authentic. It's like keeping it real. No sugarcoating. People who sang about their depressions and addictions. Amy Winehouse, Kurt Cobain, Janis Joplin. A lot of these artists fought their issues trough the music. But better? Maybe..
I feel nowadays it's becoming a trend like the whole mental illness situation is getting glorified in music from people who play just a role.

I certainly know this is an issue - as a conservatorium student, I know being both a student and a musician is a perfect cocktail combination for mental health problems. Especially since a lot of musicians don't know how to cope with their fear of failure, or finding stability in their work.

Very difficult topic to approach. I work in a home for schizophrenics and music group is one of their favorite things for quieting their voices, or “unseen others.” Cool name for a band? Love your album reviews!

I'am living with person which has severe depression and I can see her reaction to music. Music reaches deep in human emotions, stimulates imagination.

From creators view - it can be kind of healing, cathartic effect. They are releasing there demons, anxiety, sadness and often love, happiness. And those emotions can afflict listeners. Sometimes despite artists motivations or intent. We cannot put responsibility to them, because this can destroy them. We as listeners are vessels which transforms plain water of music into wine...or sometimes liquid cyanide.
And I think that toxic feedback on artists can be responsible for their despair or downfalls. Not all, not always, but we can see this in some instances.

wow its amazing for Musicians !!

music is very much an appeal to emotion, it makes complete sense that those who have suffered more or have more emotional experience could be more motivated and sound more authentic. As a musician with BPD and depression, I can tell you the times i am anxious are often the times i am most motivated.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66038.71
ETH 3178.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05