The Silver Lining

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I have been a member of Steemit for almost a year, and although I have not written as much as I would have liked, I am so happy to be a member of this community. I enjoy reading the content that people share, and it has encouraged me to write when I honestly would never have the courage or inspiration. I recently made a big move from Seattle to North Carolina and things have been rocky at best. My wife hated the heat, missed her friends, and we have altogether had a rough transition. 


It seemed that nothing was going right. My son had transportation set up through the school district and it was horrible. He was constantly picked up and dropped off at sporadic times, and communication was awful. We complained but got nowhere until the last possible time in the school year. I took a position here thinking that I would continue to work at the same place for several years, only to find out that I had a terminating contract that was not going to be renewed. My wife was miserable. I was miserable. 


Today was the turning point. I planned so much in advance and I didn't see anything coming into fruition until now. I had 2 job interviews and was offered both positions. The first job, which I accepted, was everything that I was wanting. The second was more out of desperation. I interviewed for the first a little over a week ago and the second I just interviewed today. I received a job offer from the place that I was excited about then within 20 minutes I received a voicemail with the other job offer. I would have accepted either position, but am so happy to get the one that I want.


This isn't the first time this has happened in my life, but sometimes it is important to know that if you work hard and stay focused, you can achieve great things. I am an optimist, and try to see the good in life. I love the fireflies, the train whistles, and the Blue Ridge Parkway down here.

 There may be so much that I am missing from where I moved from, but it is good to feel that things are moving in the right direction. Stay strong, and focus on your goals. You too can get to where you want to be! 

Sort:  

Congratulations @theabsolute! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64207.05
ETH 3065.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87