25 Most Popular Behavior-Based Interview QuestionssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

Last time I needed to look for a new job I went through a recruiter, and they gave me a list of popular interview questions to help me prepare. I just found that list while cleaning and decided I should write it down where I can find it for next time, and might as well share with Steemit while I'm at it! 

The interviewer will start with something like "Tell me about a time when you..."

  1. worked effectively under pressure.
  2. handled a difficult situation with a co-worker.
  3. were creative in solving a problem.
  4. missed an obvious solution to a problem.
  5. were unable to complete a project on time.
  6. persuaded team members to do things your way.
  7. wrote a report that was well received.
  8. anticipated potential problems and developed preventative measures.
  9. had to make an important decision with limited facts.
  10. were forced to make an unpopular decision.
  11. had to adapt to a difficult situation.
  12. were tolerant of an opinion that was different than yours.
  13. were disappointed in your behavior.
  14. used your political savvy to push a program through that you really believed in.
  15. had to deal with an irate customer (co-worker/boss/subordinate.)
  16. delegated a project effectively.
  17. surmounted a major obstacle.
  18. set your sights too high (or low.)
  19. prioritized the elements of a complicated project.
  20. got bogged down in the details of a project.
  21. lost (or won) an important contract.
  22. made a bad decision.
  23. had to hire a friend.
  24. hired (or fired) the wrong person.
  25. turned down a good job.


That's it! Thinking through and preparing some of these before an interview might help in the long run, and as I was typing it up I realized I can even integrate a couple of these into my resume. Hope this helps someone!


Just for fun if you have a funny story about one of these situations why not share it below so we can laugh at with you! 


Sort:  

Congratulations @telos! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28