Sort:  

That has been my approach to this since nearly forever. I did make the mistake of spam commenting someone, once, early on. They showed me the way with some damn good advice. I still remember his name. I even wrote a post and thanked him for giving me shit.

For some strange reason though, some of the advice being passed around always goes something like, "If you want to get noticed, comment comment comment." Then they add the part about how commenting on a wealthier members post might help too. People take that the wrong way and start brown nosing. Nobody here wants to know fake people, I can guarantee it, so why try!

There I go again.

I'm Calm!

Breathe.... That is a problem, I feel a lot of people are only focusing on what is peoples wallets and not making the effort to have a bit of fun and get to know you audience a bit. What do you think of "bots" dare I ask? I may have missed a rant, however I would love your opinion. I like to follow success but truly feel when it is organic and true intentions are present that indeed will be successful!

I'm fine with bots, provided people use them responsibly. Many of us, at some point, did something right to earn automatic votes. The one using the bot trusts that our work will be up to their personal standards. They do come and look at the post, eventually. There have been a few people in the past who've wanted to support my work every step of the way. They might be out, not able to vote, so I can appreciate that sort of bot vote.

Some people abuse bot votes. Once they found a way to be placed on someones list, the begin posting garbage every few hours because they know they are guaranteed a few votes regardless of the performance. That's not good. There has to be some level of trust between both parties.

Some members look for easily attainable statistics, set their bots to vote for the top 40 authors of the previous week, then leave. They might check in to have a look at their wallets every few days, but as for the content they vote for, it doesn't matter. Then the next person does the same thing, and the next and the next. This guarantees the same people earn hundreds if not thousands of dollars shortly after posting every time they post because of this mass of automation. Many do that. They don't curate, they set their bots to follow the money. The more who join in on the madness, the more those few successful authors earn, everyone is happy except for 99% of the members who were not in the top 40 that week. Do you see how getting in the top 40 would be impossible?

I worked my ass off and nearly got to the top 60 without a mass of automatic votes. Because people want to maximize their rewards for not even being around to enjoy content, even being in the top 100 isn't good enough. I hate bots for this reason.

There's the good and the bad to everything. Those chasing the easy money and using bots to get it are one of the main reasons so many people struggle and then eventually quit. For me, I don't want to quit, but have hit that wall where if feels like you can longer climb. It should just be a steady climb, and even those at the top should have to deal with a few posts that haven't done as well as others. Even the best comedian can still go on stage and bomb or arrive at a venue only to see half of the seats are full.

That is insane and I so appreciate you taking the time to give me your opinion. I am here to write and want to find my writing space. I have bigger goals in writing and want this to be the "start-up". I have grown many companies in my career and I am treating this the same way. SO I enjoy the honest dialogue that justifies that I am looking at this clearly. My boyfriend is trying to set it up since he does the research and I have hestitated because I do not want to ruin the integrity of my work. Which is suffering because of my dilemma- so I am not even wanting post.

We need to KNOW the community to police the bullshit. Not as eloquent as you , but I feel the growing alliances will create the future of this platform- well more like "set-the-bar".

The struggle is real my new friend.

As I sit here to write you I am determined to support you and those with similar views amidst the chaos.

Steemit is still a great place to self publish and earn without advertisements. It's ahead of it's time. Even though a few greedy types are making it harder for more to join in on the fun, that doesn't make it impossible to find success here. Many still do. It's not the end of the world. People need to be encouraged to curate responsibly, and many do. Even today though I saw another post where someone was bragging up the benefits of automation, which means we lost another set of eyes...and unfortunately a few read it, jumped on the bandwagon, now we have less.

Strange to me though. They could just as easily earn curation rewards by voting for anyone. In some cases they'd earn more because they'd be sharing their piece of the pie with fewer people. Finding the diamonds in the rough seems to be like too much work for some though. Clicking a button is too much work. I usually earn more on curation by voting manually than most of these with similar SP who use bots, yet they hear easy money and throw logic out the window. That's life I guess.

I don't think it can be policed. We do have downvotes in the form of flags that can negate rewards gained through abuse. They work. Unfortunately, many who don't vote responsibly will have to see the value of their rewards plummet before they will believe value can actually do that. People will be people. There's always some who can only look out for number one.

Its good to hear you say this, I was told to go with a bot , but then what is the point in posting and being here if I can't interact? To me, this platform is amazing and I just need to be "me" and be patient. Thanks so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65443.30
ETH 2653.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82