The Story Of My Life - My 5 Years Expat AnniversarysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)
The best way to predict your future is to create it. - Abraham Lincoln

I couldn't agree more.

Opportunities are not given by chance, they are created intentionally.

5 years ago today I made the most important decision ever. I decided to leave my home country in order to live the life that I really wanted.

What I learned along the way is that there might be few things we're not able to accomplish.

It's all about your backbone.

Here's the story of my life which turns 5 years today 💙

Warrior @surfermarly

Pimp my life - The art of creating the life you deserve

Most people spend their lives dreaming of the life they'd love to live.

I don't know if it's due to my impatience, perfectionism or thirst for life in general, but I've never been able to be content with less than 100%.

There was this turning point in my life when I started to walk into the right direction.

Every decision on change starts with that one moment of consciousness, the ultimate enlightenment when you know that things are not as they should be.

It's the moment you let go what's been and embrace what's going to be at the same time.

You don't always end up where you thought you were going, but you will always end up where you are meant to be.

Five years ago today I decided that I wanted to live close to the beach no matter what.

I perfectly remember that day as if it was yesterday.

My eyes were filled with tears when I sat on that rock at my favourite seawater pool.

It was an overwhelming feeling to know what I wanted. I was tired of my current life situation that was merely defined by the value of status symbols.

I felt empty.

But suddenly I knew how to fill that emptiness.

OK, I said. Then let's do it. Who if not me might decide on my future?

Then the hard work began, because nothing worth comes easy.

I applied for a second job on the weekends, which meant that I was practically working every day of the week.

That lifetime dream was expensive, and I wanted to do things right.

It was tough, and surely there were moments of doubt. However, I kept going. Every time I was in doubt I thought about the beach.

I cancelled the leasing for my car and started to take the subway to get to work. Every saved Cent was important.

I remember one day in winter time when I hated myself for that decision. It was pretty cold and rainy (like almost always), and I was freezing and wet walking down the street while I watched the cars passing by. Surely they had turned on their seat heater, I angrily thought.

Today I'm able to laugh about these moments. Why? Because I fought until the very end.

One year after deciding to emigrate from Germany to Canary Islands I held that one way flight ticket in my hands.

I was tired but incredibly happy.

For the first time in my life I really understood why we are here: To create.

So be aware: you're the creator of your own destiny.

Opportunities are not given, they are made.

All the best for that journey of yours!

Marly -

This banner was designed by the talented @rvanstel. Contact him for more info.


Original content. Quotes both found on (1) (2) pinterest.com and picturequotes.com.

Sort:  

Every decision in life is about choosing sacrifice over comfort. There is always an easy or comfortable path which will rarely lead to actual freedom. Thanks for sharing your story Canary Islands look like a great place to live, are they still part of the EU?

Every decision in life is about choosing sacrifice over comfort.

I fully agree Stephen! Thank you. Have I ever mentioned how much I appreciate your comments in my blogs? If not: I do!!! 😊

Yes, the islands belong to Spanish territory. However, from the fiscal point of view we're independent and in a really comfortable situation. Sales tax is at only 7% e.g. It's a cheap life with high quality, so a real jackpot, hehe.

Looks great. I will add it to my travel buck list.

Beautiful and inspiring @surfermarly!

Perhaps one of the things people tend to misunderstand about "living the life we want" and "CREATING the life we want" is this notion that it's somehow going to be "easy." That the life we want will just be all sitting on the beach sipping mai-tais from now to eternity.

I've been "creating my life" since 1999... but it's not easy and I work at it every single day. It doesn't come from "nothing." There is no "Magic FedEx Truck" that comes along and delivers our perfect life in a box, after which we never need to "do" anything, ever again.

Life continues to be work, and we continued to encounter challenges and problems... but now we live from a point of joy and gratitude as we deal with those and move through them. I watch you "living your dream" but you also work your butt off!

Again, beautiful... and thanks for sharing and keeping it real!

Oh I just love your comments, have I ever mentioned that? :-) Sometimes I think they are even telling the main story, and my article is just a comment on it. You're brilliant!

There is no "Magic FedEx Truck" that comes along and delivers our perfect life in a box, after which we never need to "do" anything, ever again.

You are absolutely right.
I somehow tried to mention that in the middle part of my post where I said that "nothing worth comes easy". Yes, I definitely worked my butt off and still do (in a different way) :-)

Thanks for always getting to the point!
Big hugs and good night

Awwww.... you're too kind! I'm just a fan... and love that you're "walking your talk."

Big hugs back to you!

Quote..."Every decision on change starts with that one moment of consciousness, the ultimate enlightenment when you know that things are not as they should be."

Thanks for your ongoing inspiration! Things are not as they should be, and you have again shown us that it is possible with grit and determination to have the life you desire. I also really love the quote from Rob Hill Sr. you included in this post. He also said...."We are all one choice away from a completely different life." He's worth following:

http://robhillsr.com

screenshot-robhillsr.com-2017-08-16-11-49-55.png

Thanks for the adding Andrew! This one is REALLY good and so true :-)
Well said.
I'm happy to be an inspiration, that's much more than I might ask for.
Have a wonderful day!

Full 100% and resteemed :-)

THANK YOU SO MUCH!!! :-)

Its easy to build the life you want or deserve when we are american or European , all you need its some braveness and faith .... but what about the people from the 3 World countries ? they need permission to build their life or move some where ... and most time their are not welcome ! its not always about ow you think to build you life or just live the life you want , this world is cruel ... but i am glad that there is a people like you share with us this feelings of happiness and satisfaction ... thank you .:)

I completely agree on every single word :-)
Thanks for the adding. You are right, I had a fortunate starting position which is not given to everybody in this world.

A lot of wise words, I fully agree and support you in this! I moved to Thailand 4 years ago, and the final decision to move just came out of nowhere. I remember sitting at home, just thinking about my possible future life in Thailand and getting this strange but pleasant warm feeling all over the body, like something good will happen and it is the right choice to take. I left stupid office job I had, bought a one-way ticket to Phuket and started a new life here!May be 2-3 weeks between making the decision and arriving to Thailand:) And I never regret! Not even once. I started working as an English teacher after 1.5 years and it changed my life a lot as well :) Congratulations, strong Marly, you've definitely made the right choice! And have an amazing Thursday !

Wow! So then you were even more spontaneous than I was!!! Congratulations, too!

I remember sitting at home, just thinking about my possible future life in Thailand and getting this strange but pleasant warm feeling all over the body, like something good will happen and it is the right choice to take.

Oh yeah, I know that warm feeling very well 😉

We rise to the challenge.
Have a great day, too!!!

Sehr großen Respekt davor! Ich glaube nicht, dass ich es könnte... Außerdem würde mir persönlich das Urlaubsfeeling verloren gehen... In Deutschland arbeiten und schlechtes Wetter verurteilen und dann wenns in den Urlaub geht, freu ich mich umso mehr :D

Wie findest dus jetzt nach 5 Jahren? Hat sich viel geändert? Und gehen dir manche Sachen dort sehr auf den Geist? Wenn ich fragen darf, was arbeitest du im Moment auf den Kanaren?

Liebe Grüße aus dem nicht mehr so verregneten Deutschland ;)

Außerdem würde mir persönlich das Urlaubsfeeling verloren gehen...

Ich verstehe, was Du meinst. Für mich hat sich die Definition von "Urlaub" einfach etwas geändert. Das bedeutet nun nicht mehr, dass ich dann endlich mal wieder den Strand sehe, sondern dass ich ein neues Land entdecke - unabhängig dessen, ob dort die Sonne scheint oder nicht :-) Ich suche mir nun auch eher Destinationen aus, wo ich eben nicht genau das habe, was ich von Zuhause kenne.

Es hat sich eigentlich ALLES verändert - inbesondere meine Mentalität. Ich hab mich meiner Umgebung angepasst, bin weniger kontrolliert, akribisch, pünktlich... deutsch eben :-) Das Leben ist hier sehr viel gelassener und auch sozialer. Die Menschen schauen mehr über den eigenen Tellerrand.

Ich arbeite in der Firma meines Dads, die in ein paar Jahren dann ggf. mal meine sein wird: https://steemit.com/daddysgirl/@surfermarly/having-fun-at-work-surfer-taking-over-the-green-houses :-)

Liebe Grüße von der Insel!

The dream is the free wheel of the mind. thanks for sharing

Nicely said! 😉

Auf den Kanaren steckst du also, na endlisch erfahre ich das mal :D

Ich hab mir immer vorgestellt, dass du in Mexiko abhängst, oder dem äußersten Süden der USA!

Ich bewundere die Entscheidung und den Mut, um das dann auch in die Tat umzusetzen (:

Ich plane etwas ähnliches, allerdings bin ich ein Mensch der alles gut durchdacht und nicht impulsiv vorbereiten muss und einen großen "Margin of safety" bei so einer gravierenden Entscheidung benötigt...

Hoffentlich kann ich in ein paar Jahren so wie du zu einem solchen Wendepunkt zurück denken.

Liebe Grüße nach Spanien :D

Mexiko? Neeeeeeeee. Viel zu gefährlich :-)

Ich plane etwas ähnliches, allerdings bin ich ein Mensch der alles gut durchdacht und nicht impulsiv vorbereiten muss und einen großen "Margin of safety" bei so einer gravierenden Entscheidung benötigt...

Ich hab mich auch abgesichert, daher ja der Nebenjob bzw. der daraus resultierende finanzielle Puffer. Jedoch denke ich mir immer: wenn wir zu viel planen und perfektionieren, verpassen wir das Wichtigste - das Leben selbst. Wer weiß schon, wie lange wir noch haben? Im besten Fall ein paar Jahrzehnte, vielleicht aber auch nur noch ein paar Stunden. Das sage ich ganz ohne dramatisch klingen zu wollen, es ist einfach realistisch.

Viel Glück für "Dein Projekt"! :)

Congrats on your five year anniversary of living the life you want- at the beach! I love that quote by Lincoln. I need to work on creating a better future for myself.

Thank you!!! Today is really special to me :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58976.49
ETH 2502.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48