How much can we help change the world?

in #life6 years ago

Just the other day, I had a conversation with a very close friend of mine about this. I, too, had the same thought. She spoke about it after some form of epiphany came upon her. I was glad that she came to that conclusion.

Why?

The thing about all these thoughts and ideas of shifting the world are good. But to me, it’s a very outward bound thing to do. I guess it has to come from the inside first (inward bound). I had so many ideas of saving nature and all that, but I failed to realise that I have to feel good myself first (I’m still working on it).

If I can’t feel good about myself and to think that by changing the world would then make me feel good is just the same as filling in some void in me. I noticed this as I sat by the river some time late last year.

Maybe it’s not our job to change anything in this world. Maybe our job is to just live life. And that’s it! It’s as simple as that. But we complicate it with things like fulfilment, meaning, purpose, etc.

One thing I learnt about nature is that there is no single animal that is trying to save the world. They always go about doing what makes them happy (fill their tummy with food, being playful, pro-create) and just being themselves. A cow does not strive to be the Elvis Presley of cows. But a human will always want to be a somebody.

So how much can we help change the world?

Not much if we are still trying to survive in the world. But a whole lot more help if we can just be a joyful, loving human being.

Steem_Line.png

Nature always wears the colours of the spirit - Ralph Waldo Emerson
Don't forget to follow me @sueyin for more ways, insights and details on how you can always reconnect with nature.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 67020.94
ETH 3270.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.62