You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steel Drum Life: Island music bass for a highly respected city official’s memorial and then a surprise Cajón request. Part 2 of 2.

in #life6 years ago

Hi @johnstone thanks for responding and thanks for inspiring part 3 of 2.
It’s just a box. No chords and no electricity required for this acoustic instrument. It has some secret stuff inside that I didn’t talk about (See part 3 of 2).
Traditionally, we play Cajón with our hands. (some people use a brush)
First we sit ontop of it, reach down between our legs, and then smack it with our palms and finger tips to produce different sounds.
Since I’m trying to play it like a drum set, I mainly use my right hand’s palm to strike the middle of the cajón when I want a low tone (bass drum type sound). Then I’ll use my left hand to strike to top left corner to get a higher pitched tone that also brings out the snares.
On this black cajón, the top left corner is pealing away from the wood a little. When I smack it with my fingers, it produces a really cool snap type sound that accentuates the snares inside.
I should create a video to show you. Thanks for teaching me with your questions John.

Microlab Stereo sounds like an all in one battery powered portable speaker used to play music by bands like Stereo Lab. Is it?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61572.53
ETH 2995.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73