Being trapped in a cage without a key

in #life5 years ago

'' Be melting snow.
Wash yourself of yourself. '' -Rumi
46019306_434039810461302_8485033898445635584_n.jpg

First real snow arrival of the year. Mid November. I need a time out already.
But what can stop a Sabrina? Certainly not snow.
I went for my regular hour walk in the winter wonderland nature.
Needless to say, I didn’t see anyone out there.

winta.jpg

The road to wisdom is paved with suffering.
However, there’s a world in between knowing and experiencing.
Sitting with yourself in the darkness is hella tough.
But pain demands to be felt, right?
Life has its way of biting where it hurts.
It can be challenging to not let the pain turn your soul to black.
It’s difficult to not lose the light in your heart.
I greet physical pain with a smile, but it’s another story when it comes to emotional pain.
Luckily, I’ve got a couple outlets that make it all better.
The self-discipline that meditation combined with physical activity has gifted me with this year is out of this world.
Even in times of extreme suffering, I feel somehow in balance, which for me, has never been the case.
Having to deal with mental illnesses is already a daily challenge, so you add anything painful into the mix and you got a recipe for disaster. Well at least it was my reality for as long as I can remember.
Pushing myself to the limits of my own body teaches me a lot on the value of pain.
You can’t stop when the going gets tough.
You gotta keep on going, you gotta keep on climbing, you gotta keep on moving ahead.
That’s how you become stronger, right?
(As someone who likes to run in the -30 cold of Montreal, believe me when I tell you that it’s tempting to want to turn around and quit.)

8f64c9a3eab0efe211f93e83211b0f33.jpg

I’ve built a very close and solid relationship with myself during the past year, and so it’s a plus when life falls apart, and I need myself that much more.
Just as much as in sports, the greatest challenge is to convince your mind, with pain, your mind is the name of the game.
Everything comes down to the way you identify with your pain.
And on top of that, the additional pain that we add onto the mix.
In times of deep suffering, your mind can act like a jail that you find no escape from.
That is when you need to find the bravery to imagine for yourself a horizon of hope, until it finally comes to life.
Because it will.
Eventually.

777 (1).jpg

Sort:  

You don't love snow? WTF are you doing up in the arctic then? ;) lol

AHHAHAH it’s a good question.
I’d have to blame it on my parents!
No but for real sometimes I wonder why people live where I live? Who likes such cold? -30 is deadly af

#goodanswer lol
Sometimes I think I would be better off living in Vegas but I still haven't visited there yet.

JAHAHAH omg Vegas is trouble!!
I could never live in the states alone to be honest:P you’re in Michigan right?

Maybe but I would love the buffets and I think the dryness might be cool.
Yeah when are you coming to visit? ;) lol

Congratulations @steemityourway! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 2000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 3000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Meet the Steemians Contest is over - Results are coming soon ...

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86