Feelings - HTHT | How to protect yourself from depression

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I have seen many articles and videos about people killing theirselves because of depression, also here on Steemit. Reading this kind of stories always makes me sad like every other reader I think...



This is such a difficult topic because no "healthy" human knows how people with depression really feel. There are things going on on their minds which we can not imagine. I believe that people who are suffering from depression surely go through a lot of pain but most of it is inside their head. I am not a psychologist, I wouldnt risk any lives but I think there are some great ways to protect yourself to not get into such a bad situation. 

"Depression is like a war. Either you win or die trying."


I have experienced a lot in my life even if I´m not that old. I have watched others, I have helped others and  I have experienced it by myself. Things can be hard sometimes and you need to be strong to survive. My mentor always said to me that it is okay to make mistakes as long as you learn from them. A second chance doesn´t mean anything if you havent learned from your first mistake!

Of course some people go through a lot of pain which cant be healed through a few words of mine. But for those of you who arent feeling good, are pushed down by others, cant deal with their feelings or anything similar is here at the right address. 


Music 

Music is one of the greatest influences in my life! It doesnt matter how you feel, there is always a matching song to your mood anywhere out there! You can use it to pull out all the deep feelings inside of you or to motivate yourself for the future. Before you use music for any sort of motivation please make yourself ready to be healed. Music can do wonders but only if you let it to! Of course we have a different taste of music but here are some songs that I recommend hearing when you feel down...


Change your thoughts 

"I feel so disconnected from the world and I feel like no one even notices me or cares about me anymore." Of course there are some days where not everything happens the right way, but life is how you react to it. Some people are trying to push you down, your life challenges you with tasks but this is the time where you need to be strong. Be strong for yourself, for your family and for your friends. You arent alone even if you sometimes think you are. It´s not common anymore that people say how much they appreciate each other but this doesnt mean you´re irrelevant to them. If you feel disconnected, you are the one who can connect yourself back to the world! There is a solution for everything and there are people out there who can help you to find it.


Appreciate more 

People use to take things for granted and if we would appreciate the little things more, life would be filled with more positivity! Appreciate everything you have from food to water over to moments of smiling! All these things arent quite naturally. It is something special to meet someone different who shares the same thoughts as you and takes time to laugh with you. Or spend time in general. But if you feel alone and want nobody around you than it´s also totally fine. You could also appreciate your body. Just imagine what he does for you from day to day. Think about your heart - it works 24/7 and it NEVER complains! Reason enough to give life a chance!


Quotes 

Of course the right words can change your mindset as well. Some quotes have the power to match your reality and you can feel that! Take some time off, put on some classical music and start picking quotes, write them on a piece of paper and put them on your fridge, on the mirror inside the bathroom or anywhere else where you go daily. 


Relax your thoughts

I have talked about overthinking in my last posts and many of you agreed when I said that overthinking kills our happiness. 

"I like my music so loud, I cant hear my thoughts."

Sometimes people create a reality inside their head which doesnt exist in real life. This is what breaks them! In order to be stronger than your thoughts, try to read. Reading helps you to forget about your thoughts and pushes you into a different reality, story or whatever!


Create a hobby

Almost everyone strives for anything right? It doesnt need to be sports, it could be playing chess, capturing nature photographs, singing with friends or even driving or walking through the nature. Choose a hobby which you can do at least twice a week. Do something that you love!


This was a lot of information and in order to succeed you should stop here and try out the listed points above. 


Let me know if you have any great ideas to escape from depression. You dont need to tell me your story but I would love to share as many possibilities as possible on my post and comment section as well to help those who suffer from problems like this!


I hope you enjoyed this episode of  "Feelings - How To Handle Them"

Thank you for reading

Stay focused

Love, Soldier


source 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |

Sort:  

Marshall is the best!


well your tips might help if someone has a bad day but if you have depression you wont feel better with some music films or a day off.
Depression is an underestimated disease where professional help is highly recommended.

I know, thats why I wrote these tips will help you not to get into such a bad situation! Depression is very hard but we can help others before they are effected by this disease

Beautiful post mate, the black dog is more prevailant in todays society than i think it ever has been. I too have noticed a lot more posts on Steemit lately regarding this topic, often with regards to suicide.

I wish people would realise just how beautiful and powerful they are before taking dramatic measures. Unfortunately i realise that is easier said than done. We should all take the time, no matter how healthy minded we think we are, to love and appreciate ourselves everyday, because sometimes the idea may become buried under the struggles of everyday life - and thats when we can forget just how truly special we are!

Well said @youareyourowngod ! Thank you for sharing your thoughts and I couldnt say it any better! We do should appreciate life more and see all the beautiful thinks but as you said, sometimes it´s easier said than done. But I believe if we help others to realize how blessed they are, we can stop them from getting into depression !

Thanks for sharing. As someone who has lived with depression and OCD I think it is important to realize that you can't change your thoughts by trying to fight with them. Instead you must practice mindfulness and let them be. Only then will they begin to fade.

Thanks for adding these important words! Appreciate it

Depression is such a silent killer. Everyone is fighting battles that nobody else knows about...

You are so right but we should start talking about it so they know we are here to help !

It works if you are optimistic, but as for me im like realistic or pessimist and i cant accept things in a positive way thats why im depressing so hard, still sometimes i regulate myself and it helps or try to distract from my problems

Okay got it. Maybe those people need an optimistic by side to realize how beautiful life can be...

I guess, soldier, I will argue with your topics all the time :D not like I'm a scumbag but sometimes I disagree :( still good post ;)

Thanks for sharing,i also believe doing something new is also a great idea to escape depression!!!

True, doing something new or exploring new places would be great

Great post....
The way you started, I thought maybe you were a doctor or psychologist really, not until I read it to the end. I agree that music is alot when it comes to tackling depression. I believe one of the reasons people turn to suicide as the only solution when depressed is because even when they turn to every side, it's doesn't look like there is help from any quarters. That's the more reason we have Steemit, an educative and informative platform where we can learn and build capacity for better days.

Thanks for sharing.

I believe you mentioned an important point. People with depression my ask for help but they do not often get one. So the feeling of being alone must be hard but there is a way out while staying alive and we need to be there for those people

Yes I agree with you.

Being there for them actually makes the difference. It brings me to another point which is, we must always endeavor to get our bucket of love filled all the time, where people in such situations can fetch from. I have practically met someone before who doubles as an introvert and was struggling with depression. It actually took trying different ways to get it out eventually and we were able to sort that out.

Once again.... Thanks for such a beautifully articulated post.

Music has helped me a lot in bad times. Without music, my life would have been really bad. And yes, you are right. People who haven't experienced it don't know how it feels. By the way, I LOVE Coldplay. Coldplay has helped me out of many bad times. About changing thoughts. It's easier said than done. Your thoughts define you. They make you what you are. You cannot change the way of thinking (I feel), but I do feel it would be much better to get rid of some thoughts. Much love, @soldier 🙂

Thank you for sharing your story! Appreciate it a lot. I have mastered to change the way I think. It is possible if you are strong enough and if you believe you can! But your also right it´s easier said than done... I do not often hear coldplay but I appreciate their music a lot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66004.40
ETH 3243.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.19