I love my mom and dad, they would do anything for me.

in #life6 years ago (edited)



Three years ago, I bought a School Bus and drove it to my parents house. My dad has trouble finding things to occupy his time, so I thought building a Tiny Home Bus together would be a great bonding experience. I wanted more of a relationship with my parents.



We ripped out most everything and went to work building a custom Motor Home Interior.



We had some rough days, and some really nice days. I'm at the age where we have more of a respectful man-man relationship, instead of a father-son relationship. I realize they're people who are trying to make their life as great as possible, in the time they have, with that they're given.



He worked with be on the Bus every single day for nearly 3 and half months. He never complained, he never stopped working until it was done. I love my dad and everything he does for me. I know that he would do everything possible in the world for me.


Here he is making a super funny face. About 4 years ago he had to have all his teeth removed and got dentures, and since then he has had to get used to a new smile, and has come into being a much more happy and smiling person since getting the dental work done. None of us are getting any younger.


Working on the electric and laying the hard wood floor. As long as he has something to do, he has no problem working. It's when he's idle and bored, that he sits around all day and really has no joy in life (My parents work from home, semi-retired). I don't mean that harshly, he simply has trouble motivating himself for himself. But for others, he would drop anything so that he can help them.


Here is my mom and my (recently deceased) dog Homer. Since Homer died, its been really quiet around the house. My mom would love another pet, but my dad does not want to get another one (not soon anyway) because hes enjoying that lack of responsibility. Homer got to be 17 and half years old, so my dad is enjoying going out on weekends without having to make sure to let him out every 2-3 hours.


This was the last time I was with Homer. I had visited with my parents a few months ago, and 2 weeks after I left he passed away.

Finished the Bus into my own debt-free Home.


While I was visiting my parents, I noticed my dad was in a depressed mood, and my mom wasn't sure what to do. He didn't feel like doing anything, and when he gets that way, he closes himself off and doesn't talk much. He gets bored easily and sits around for hours, playing around on his iPad and watching TV. I encouraged him that we should try building a foundry to melt some aluminum.


So we went to Home Depot together, bought some supplies, and the next day we had ourselves a working foundry!


Then we went thrift shopping to get ourselves a sweet pan that we can pour the aluminum in and make some sweet molds.


Polished it up and this was the end result.


The foundry was a few months ago, and now that I am back visiting my parents, my dad is doing the same thing. Sitting around, bored, watching TV, depressed and my mom is getting extremely frustrated. So I looked through Pinterest and some craft sites, and came across some recycled copper pipe art that looks really simple and fun to do.


So I told my dad about it and he has really been getting into it. Its amazing to see the difference in him. Now that he has something to do, to think about, to create, his whole demeanor as a person has changed. He loves showing off what hes working on. Hes researching new designs, and ways to do new things. He gets up and soon after is in the garage working. A change of pace was all that he needed.



I saw some ideas with old telephones and turning them into lamps. So we went thrift store shopping (getting him out of the house!!) and browsed around to see what we could recycle to create something cool.


He has a whole garage full of tools that he rarely uses. So I was hoping that if he gets started on something like this copper stuff, he already has the tools for it, its worth a try to get him out of his funk.



You simply cannot be depressed while you are using a torch to heat up copper piping.


He started making a candle holder, got an idea for a jewelry display, and then my mom came up with the idea to make a hand towel holder. She is in love with all these pieces, and has thanked me for getting my dad out of the house and into the garage. She was getting flustered inside the house with him just sitting there.


As soon as my dad had some rough finished pieces, my mom took them for herself and put them all over the house. Since coming up with the idea for these things, the whole household has been transformed and has been a much more positive environment. My dad has a need for new things, for creating and only then is he able to fully be alive it seems.


As soon as my mom saw my dad making these things, she immediately asked if he would be able to make a hook for her to hang her hair dryer on. Ask and you shall receive!


My dad uses mostly recycled copper pipe, and buys the ends and connectors locally. Cabling and such he got from Amazon and he makes the plugs and everything himself. He solders all the corners and then works on hand polishing the pieces. He's had to research quite a bit and look at youtube videos.


He has been on a shopping and recycling spree, working on a couple sweet lamp designs.


Mostly finished Edison style lamp! He has learned a sweet technique of lacquering and finishing all the pieces so that there is less noticable discoloration of the copper over time. My dad is an absolute genius when he feels like it.



Using the carpet as a backdrop works perfectly on the coffee table. I cannot believe my dad turned junk into this. Its incredible the things he's able to do.


I'm a real big fan of these retro lights. Got like a 15 pack on Amazon.



Shiny Level 1,000. My jaw dropped when he came in from the garage and showed me his lacquering and wet sanding technique. These things are simply incredible. Everyday he goes out and works on these things, hours on end. He comes in to eat and drink and continues working. My mom is so impressed by the change in him. His idle hands simply need something constructive and worthwhile to do.



After putting so much time and effort into his new hobby (and not sitting around depressed) he bought him a small beginners light kit so that he could take some really nice pictures of the stuff he's making.



I showed him how to use Photoshop, and he has been cranking out some really sweet pictures. As his designs and pieces are getting cleaner and more sharp, so are his pictures. He has been getting the hang of lighting and taking some great close up and cropped pictures.


I am beyond happy and grateful that my dad has found so much fun and creativity in this new hobby.



One of the best and cleanest pictures that he has shown me.


Current lighting setup in the Bus.


My dad sold a few of his pieces through Etsy, and they were in a wedding! How sweeeet!


You can visit his shop at https://www.etsy.com/shop/LampDesignByJay


Visit https://www.skoolielove.com/ for more pictures and my blog about Bus Life.



Thanks for looking through and reading this. I am so grateful to my parents for who I have become, and who they are as people, not just my parents. Seeing my father depressed and down on life is incredibly hard, especially when my mom, his wife, struggles right along with him. Depression affects all of us at one time or another. Fortunately in our case, we have narrowed down what they both need from each other, and what my dad needs in order to be joyful. They are both feeling so much better these days, and my dad is able to go into his garage and let his imagination run wild and be creative. It's been a really great journey with these two, I love them dearly. This was a pic of us three a couple days ago, it was a wonderful time and it feels great to be a "whole" family again. There's always room for more love.

Make it a wonderful day, everyone!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71