You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: LetsTalk—Can We Be Brutally Honest Without Hurting People?

in #life7 years ago

Great post!

Haha, yeah. I remember that day - I was fucking exhausted as well. The reason I said it, eventhough the food was salty AF, is because I think that service in The Netherlands is pretty polite. We always ask nicely, even if we complain about something. Too direct can be taken as rude.

Maybe it's because of my former experience as a waitress. I would seriously hate it when people just plainly stated something. I even believe someone snapped their fingers at me like I was their dog. Being a waitress is not fun. As a human being, I expect to be treated properly, even if I am serving one's food. No need to be rude to ME. I did NOT make your food miserable or pissed on your tastebuds.

The waiters are there to help you, provide you good service. The food can be shit, but that is not their fault. The only thing that they can do is provide you service - if that is shit, yes then be my guest to tell them they aren't doing a good job.

Sort:  

Snapping a finger at you is very impolite, i agree, but letting you know that the food wasn´t good is imo not rude, if it is true.
If you pass it on in a nice way, it might lead to improvement and hence more content and returning guests, and possibly even more tips/better pay in the long run due to an increased popularity.

@nomadnessie

If you pass it on in a nice way, it might lead to improvement and hence more content and returning guests, and possibly even more tips/better pay in the long run due to an increased popularity.

This is exactly my point. In any line of work, especially service related industry its vital that one is able to take feedback as it comes.

Asking a customer how the food was and getting a straightforward answer is not unusual I think...

@sjennon Yes I agree with you and now we understand each other better. Any customer would expect their order to arrive as expected, this wasn't the case. If you remember, I wasn't rude, just direct and you are right about people in NL being very polite. We all have to face critique in our lives, being able to propel it to better ourselves is what we must strive for. I've worked many jobs myself and I understand how difficult it can be sometimes but then again learning to deal with the situation is very important. Atleast I wasnt pissed off as I can be sometimes and had I done that it would have been morally wrong. :)

Hahah, not I am curious about you being pissed off and breaking morals. Do you have examples? :p

None except when Im hungry I want good food on me plate! :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65970.26
ETH 2696.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88