The country man, me and the sorbus ^_^

in #life5 years ago

Today we went in the lands of the father of my hubby to visit him and so we walked for a bit between the fruit trees and the plants in this beautiful area. Here it's time for olives, kaki (also callen persimmon) and other taste fruits and it's really pleasure to walk there and collect some fresh fruits to eat!

The first step was close to the kaki tree, a fruit that my hubby loves so much. He watched if the fruit was ready to eat or not, but after the check, his sad face seemed to say "They are not ready yet!".

I captured a funny scene where the tree seems to have a couple of legs:

Well, the kaki is not ready, but there is another fruit plant to control: the sorbus tree!

Maybe you think is strange, but I've never eaten a sorbus before today! Sure, in my area was a common tree during the past , but now it's rarely that someone has one of them in the garden.

My hubby (who know this fruit very well) said to me to collect just the fruit that was (almost) ready to eat and so, when I see a red sorbus (that is similar to a tiny apple) I thought it was ready to ead and... I ate it!

I was in wrong!!! Argh! That red sorbus was so so (and SO again) bad! My hubby forgot to say me that to understand if that fruit was ready, the right color is the brown, not red!

My mouth feel the same effect to eat an entire lemon!

Why this fruit has to seem rotten to be good to eat? Ok, after that experience I needed to drink something sweet, believe me!

Well, more kaki and less sorbus for me. ^_^

And you? Have you ever eat a sorbus? What do you think about this fruit?

See ya soon

Silvia


silvia beneforti
Sort:  

Never seen fruit like that, but we have sorbus trees with sour berries that were used as ingredient in a wine simply branded Sorbus. It was really bad but cheap thus popular with the professional drinkers. The berries were also used in a candy which was more pleasant. I'm curious if the taste is similar to the fruit

Here, in the past, the fruits of the sorbus trees were very common to eat because there were a lot of wild sorbus trees, but today just few people eat these fruits. I don't like it so much, but I know some people (especially old people) use them to make a liquor ^_^

A chaser to cover the sour taste. I understand. Thanks Silvia.

You're welcome, dear Troy ^_^

Silvia, the first thing that struck me there, was the word, persimmon
There's been a lot of fuss lately in the UK about the boss of persimmon homes and his massive bonus
here's a link in case you've missed all the hullabaloo
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-46122407
Of course, you will have while you're enjoying your trip
It looks beautiful out there
Even the 2 legged tree
Hope you had a good time

Thanks for the link, I've missed all about it ^_^

Wow! So lovely! your hubby so cute. Wonderful atmosphere, love the colors and sorbus tree! very awesome angle. you do wonderful work. love your style.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70391.42
ETH 3572.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74