Being kind to others might change your life, even if you don't owe them anything.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Now a days we only focus on ourselves more than others. I am an advocate of self development and putting yourself first. However, this does not mean that you should not be good for others. Whats more is our society tends to focus on things that can be quantified, i.e. put a number to measure an amount. Money can be measured, love cannot. Not only that, our society does not want to do anything for someone else even if it is just being kind to others. Many people don't understand the power of kindness as they don't value this trait as much as I believe they should.

Few days ago I saw a woman walking down a street that was relatively busy, she almost walked head on into a guy. The collision wouldn't hurt anyone lol. But the man made comments about her which was very harsh and belittling. What is the point of putting someone down? So what if she almost walked into you, is it that big of a deal? Can't people make harmless mistakes without being trashed on? What if that woman was depressed with life problems and her mind was that? What if she is going through tough times? Those comments from him could have made her feel bad, and if she is going through tough times she might feel like crap, maybe even for whole day.

I am just giving an example. I have seen many like this, I am sure you have too. If lets say that man was kind to her, maybe she would not have felt as bad. I see bus drivers driving for long hours. Sometimes even if they are good people, they may face rude passengers who will belittle them for silly mistakes, i.e not opening the door quick enough (maybe 5 to 10 seconds later than he should have).

A person subconsciously behaves in many ways how he/she sees society behave. Belittling people could make them feel bad about themselves and their attitude towards others may also end up being bad to where he/she is belittling someone else in another scenario. Negativity brings negativity. By being kind you are also setting an example of what to be like. Eventually treat other's kindly, and they will treat you and possibly others kindly too.

I am not saying that be a pushover. I am saying, if you treat someone kindly, especially when others treat them bad, eventually they might be kind or helpful when you need it. If enough people would do this in a community it would change the atmosphere of the environment where people would feel more kind and caring. Isn't this what we want? Don't we all want this.

Sort:  

I love this! So inspiring! I've posted a few poems of mine if you want to check them out.

Thanks, yeah I will definitely check them out too.

I wish I could like this twice. Since I can't, I will resteem it :). Treating others with love and respect only creates more love in this world.
On a selfish note, by loving others it will give one more love in his/her world as well. That has been my experience, anyway. <3

The universe is an information processor. I like to think of it as The Universal Processor. Garbage in, garbage out. Kindness in, kindness out. It's kind of like that for me.

Random acts of kindness work like that, too. You can be kind to someone one day, and 3 days later, the kindness is returned. Besides, smiles are still free.

Yup, that is exactly what I wanted to get through in this post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73