Sort:  

Was a process/manufacturing engineer in med device, ended up burning myself out. Definitely an ass man :P I'm still finding my voice on steem, so for now I just write or share whatever comes to mind or what's going on in my life. I thought it was weird that people were that surprised Bourdain killed himself, as much character as he had, he was pretty fucked up in the head, many high level chefs are. You need a certain drive that transcends your own practical humanity. It pushes you to uncomfortable places in your mind. Hunter S. Thompson was another that had my fear and respect, but also kinda made sense that he had enough or chose not to participate any longer.

Well Hunter S. Thompson was just on another level. Here's a clip of Rogan detailing his daily routine. I'm super surprised he lived as long as he did!
Bourdain had turned his life around, famously by quitting drugs around the Kitchen Confidential years, but recently Rogan had gotten him addicted to BJJ. He got ripped! He had a six pack and even was able to go off the statins he had been taking. I don't usually see people with that kind of dedication to a healthy discipline commit suicide, so I was a bit surprised too.
When I watch No Reservations, and Parts Unkown, the show is so intimate I start to think I know the person, but I guess you never truly know what's going on with someone when you're getting a filtered view.
But Rogan was surprised by it, and he knew him pretty well...

Anyways, I'm sure with your engineering skills you'll do just fine with whatever future endeavor you choose!

Oh man, I've seen that clip a few times, it never gets old. But it speaks to who he was, I definitely could NOT handle that type of toxic load though he knew he could and that it was what he needed to do. There are various tribes around the world that use different drugs, including alcohol, to purposefully transcend consciousness to arrive at some truth. This guy knew his purpose was to push his mind and his body as far as they would go to discover something. I wonder if there was ever a time he was sober past a certain point in his life.

I doubt it, haha. After his regime, it would take quite some time of abstinence to be truly sober again. Brain fog can be a pretty deep hole to cllimb out of.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66785.29
ETH 3229.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30