Wipeout! Aussie kids riding the waves.

in #life7 years ago

This is my son taking a nosedive in the surf. He was only 6 in this photo! He has wiped out more times than I could possibly count. To see this wipeout in its full glory, scroll to the bottom of the post.

nosedive.jpg

My little guy has been begging me to do a post about him surfing. I have told him that I don’t like to put pictures of him on the internet, but he is most insistent, so here is part 1 in a 3 part series…

Both of my kids have been swimming since they were babies. As the Australian anthem says, “Our home is girt by sea” so Aussie kids often start swimming from a young age. My kids started swimming in the ocean in the arms of my husband, and then progressed onto boogie boards at a young age. They are now learning how to ride a surfboard.

This is a photo from 3 years ago when they started boogie boarding. Miss J (left, 7 years) and Mr D (right, 5yrs).

beach2.jpg

My husband was addicted to surfing in his youth, and he is teaching our kids how to read the ocean. They are learning how to judge the size of a wave; how to see a rip and what to do if they are caught in one; and they have also learned a healthy respect for the power of the ocean.
Dad is often the tugboat that pulls the kids out to where they can catch a wave:

1tugboat.jpg

When they were first learning, he had to push the kids onto a wave. He still does this if the kids need an extra boost onto a wave.

4push.jpg

The kids are always under the watchful eye of their Dad:

2watching.jpg

This is the kids paddling out to Dad who is watching to see if there is a set of waves coming in:

3looking.jpg

Even our dog Tango has been out on a surfboard:

surf_dog.jpg

I have always been a bit afraid of the surf. When I was a kid, I had a scary experience in the waves. I was standing in the water with my back turned on the surf. A wave knocked me over and the power of the wave plunged me deep under the water, all the way down to the sand. I struggled to stand up, gasping for air only to be knocked over immediately by another wave. As I tumbled with the wave, I couldn’t figure out which way was up and I couldn’t breathe . In that moment, I thought I was going to die.

I have since learned more about the surf and don't mind getting in for a swim, but surfing isn't my thing. And I have to admit that when I see either of my kids wipeout, my heart just about stops:

wipeout_set1000.jpg

But no matter how many times they wipeout, their love of surfing only seems to grow:

happy.jpg happy2.jpg

I'll be posting some more surfing pictures soon!

~ Seajai

PS: These photos were taken at Huskisson Beach and Bulli Beach in NSW, Australia.

Sort:  

!originalworks do your magic please :)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @seajai to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Seajai from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Wow! Wonderful! So good to see such active, happy and excited kids. I like how they are so enthusiastic about surfing and swimming. :)

Congratz, your post has been read, approved and resteemed by a human!
pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

Check The Daily spotlights of 2 October 2017! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights

@originalworks

Great fun. My boys love boogy boarding too.

There's nothing quite like the rush they get from being in the surf :)

Looks like everyone (except maybe the dog) is having a good time here.

Lol, yep... the dog was happy to be with the rest of the pack in the ocean, but not wild about the surfboard.

This post received a 15% vote by @mrsquiggle courtesy of @choogirl from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63547.08
ETH 3070.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83